Good news…

14 Jul

After a month long painting spree…

I didn’t paint this weekend, not a single room inside my home. 

I filled my time with another activity.   I stained!  It’s not painting, it’s staining.  I should say “we” stained.  We: meaning our whole family.  Well, except for the cat.  I don’t think he would’ve been much help, and besides, the cat doesn’t accept cash, but the children willingly accepted payment.  So, we all stained the deck, the playset, the garden bench and the fence on Saturday and Sunday.  

While I was staining the fence all I could think of was “The Karate Kid.”  It’s all in the wrist you know. 

You’d think a weekend of staining would cure my attachment to the paintbrush and the thrill of painting.  It hasn’t.  I have plans to paint my foyer.  Just not this week.  My hand and wrist are too sore.

And a big thanks to a reader for her comment in my last post that brought me to this cartoon.

Mrs. V

9 Responses to “Good news…”

  1. debra July 15, 2008 at 6:01 am #

    I love to paint (not really good at it but I love it) but REALLY love to stain. Wish I lived closer…I would have come over to help!

    Rest your wrist so you can have some more ‘fun’ ! :)

  2. Julie July 15, 2008 at 9:58 am #

    I would have thought of the karate kid too. *lol* Every time Joe waxes the Durango, I always say, “Wax on, wax off!” ;)

  3. writerchick July 15, 2008 at 10:14 am #

    LOL Mrs. V! Great toon! So happy to be of some inspiration. You definitely have the painting bug and it looks as t hough you will just have to let it pay itself out. ;)

    Thanks for the the linky luv.

    Annie

  4. RC July 15, 2008 at 11:01 am #

    So think you should have helped us paint our house. I’ll save the peak of our ceiling for you next time, okay?

  5. joanharvest July 15, 2008 at 5:06 pm #

    That cartoon is great. My deck needs staining. You’re welcome to stain it anytime. That was one of my daughter’s favorite movie when she was a kid.

  6. mrsvierkant July 15, 2008 at 9:46 pm #

    debra: Staining was enjoyable, although seemingly endless, LOL.

    Julie: Funny how pop culture sneaks into our every day lives, isn’t it?

    Annie: Linky Luv… I get it., finally! God I’m so clueless sometimes.

    RC: I’m scared of my peak, and you want me to do yours, which is like a million times higher than mine. Yeah, that’s not going to happen girly!

    Joan: Karate Kid was my favorite movie when I was in high school. A long, long, long, time ago.

  7. michaelm July 16, 2008 at 7:08 pm #

    wax on, wax offf . . .
    I feel your stain pain. I own a house.
    Lord have mercy . . .
    ~m

  8. Ida July 16, 2008 at 8:44 pm #

    Well if you’re starting a business… Can you hire me? I promise I won’t paint the closet again.

  9. mrsvierkant July 16, 2008 at 9:15 pm #

    ~m: I’m glad I have siding. :) The fence seemed endless enough

    Ida: I’ll hire you only if you bring pie. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

