Hope your Halloween is Boo-tiful!

30 Oct

Thankfully we are “allowed” to celebrate Halloween at the preschool where I teach, and we love to celebrate Halloween at my house too.

So this is my agenda for tomorrrow:

1. For the first time in all of my 39 years, I am dressing up as a princess. I found a 60’s bridesmaid dress in swiss dot fabric and a beautiful buttercup yellow at a resale shop for $5. I have a tiara, gloves and shoes.  Forget princess, I’ll be a queen.  **evil laugh**  I’ll post pictures in a few days.

2. My students have the option of wearing costumes to school. This is the part I love. They are so excited about their costumes!

3. We are having a costume parade and singing a couple of songs for the parents. This is the part the parents love.

4. We are taking a walking field trip across the street to the nursing home to wish the residents there a “Happy Halloween.” 

5. We will return to school, sing Halloween songs, have popcorn, watch a short movie(Curious George and the Costume Shop), and I will read a couple of Halloween stories. We might even have time for games.

6. We will repeat this with the afternoon class. At 3:15 we will be exhausted and have to do our Friday take down (we rent space in a church.) I hope to be on the way home by 4:30.

7. I will feed my children supper and take them trick or treating with friends. I will wear my costume, much to my children’s dismay. **hee-hee** My daughter is going as a hippie, my son will be a crazy tourist. My husband will hand out candy.

8. We will celebrate Mr. V’s 40th Birthday in a very low key way. That’s right. My husband turns 40 tomorrow. On a Friday. On Halloween. And he does NOT want a party. It screams party to me, but it is not my birthday, is it? So a quiet birthday it will be. **sigh**

9. We will get the children home and in bed.

10. We will sleep soundly, or at least I know I will.

Happy Hauntings!
Mrs. V

4 Responses to “Hope your Halloween is Boo-tiful!”

  1. RC October 31, 2008 at 12:08 am #

    Happy birthday to my favorite (okay, only…) brother-in-law! So glad I’ve known him for more than half of his life, for the most part. Just remind him that he is now old. **evil laugh**

    As for me, I’m destined for an old bridesmaid’s dress tomorrow, so wish me well. If Little Dude is well enough that is. Yes, he has my cold and isn’t sleeping well. Thus the reason I’m up and posting comments at 1 am.

  2. Julie October 31, 2008 at 10:00 am #

    I think you’re going to be a very tired teacher/mommy by the time the day is over. *lol* … But seeing all those little ones in costumes would make it so worth it! :D

  3. mrsmacheide October 31, 2008 at 8:50 pm #

    Sounds like such a fun day for everyone. I can’t wait to see pictures of it all.

    Happy birthday to your hubby

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in review « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - January 2, 2011

    […] The busiest day of the year was October 28th with 1,871 views. The most popular post that day was Hope your Halloween is Boo-tiful!. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

