Irony, Preschool Style

18 Sep

During the first two weeks of preschool we really emphasize the importance of proper hand washing. 

We read the book Those Mean Nasty Dirty Downright Disgusting but…Invisible Germs by Judith Anne Rice.  This is a wonderful book with great illustrations on what an earache germ, a headache germ, a sore throat germ, a fever germ and the most downright disgustingest germ of all, the throw up germ, just might look like.  Rosa, the smart little girl in the book, knows how to get rid of those terrible germs and she sends them whirling, twirling down the drain.  We read this book over and over again. 

We practice coughing and sneezing into our elbow.  We show how germs spread by using glitter and shaking hands.  We talk about the proper steps for hand washing.  You know the drill… wet, soap, scrub (sing a little song), rinse and dry.  We are even growing germy bread for a science experiment. 

What is germy bread?  It’s a slice of bread (preferably one that doesn’t have preservatives) which everyone in the class touches with their dirty, moist little hands.  Gross, right?  Wait a week, and then you can be completely downright disgusted by those not-so invisible germs.

We should have those germs well under control, right? 

Sure.

Except that I’m the one who now has the sore throat germ, the headache germ, and the earache germ.   

Irony, preschool style.

Mrs. V

On Monday, I will not be surprised if I get asked by a student if I forgot to wash my hands.

2 Responses to “Irony, Preschool Style”

  1. Julie September 21, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Oh no! … That IS ironic. *lol* … I sure hope you feel better soon!

    http://scrapgrrl.com/

  2. mary October 3, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    My students reminded me about being “responsible for my materials and belongings” the other day when I was telling them about my dog chewing up my favorite sandals. Of course I WAS supposed to put them away and not leave them on the floor by my chair. They really do pay attention to us, don’t they?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

