Being in Charge

28 Jan

Okay, I admit it.  I like being in charge. 

I’ve also been known to assert my authority once in awhile.  

“I’ll be the teacher, you be ‘Joey’.” 

This is my subtle reminder to those not so subtle children who make a habit of correcting others, and in the process annoying those children that they are attempting to correct.  

Usually it works.  

Usually.

Until I had  a particularly bright child who finally decided to let me be in charge and finally allowed me to correct the children, but still felt the need to inform me of the many wrong doings that I was so obviously missing.

“Teacher Boss, Teacher Boss!  She is budging in line”

“Teacher Boss, Teacher Boss…”

Maybe I should’ve been insulted.  Instead I laughed. 

Hey, if the name fits…

I think that it fits quite well, actually. 

Only a Teacher Boss would use the line “Hey, don’t make me use my bossy voice” to a group of slightly out of control children to grab their attention, and have the children respond by sitting and listening.

A Teacher Boss knows when to use her bossy voice, and she can use it well.

I am Teacher Boss

I am in charge.

So don’t make me use my bossy voice. 

Mrs. V

2 Responses to “Being in Charge”

  1. Julie January 29, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    You must have a really fun classroom. :)

    http://scrapgrrl.com/

  2. kiri8 January 29, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    I am sooo going to use that line: “I’ll be the teacher, you be Joey.”

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

