Don’t Eat Play-dough off of the floor…

20 Jan

Or out of the play-dough bucket either.  Ugh…  I’d insert a gross face here, if I could.  There are still things that I need to learn about this blogging adventure.

 I have learned (and accepted) that if it can go in a child’s mouth, there will be a child who will try to eat it.  Take play-dough and it’s abundance in a preschool classroom.  We make our own, and it can be made in many colors and we even scent it sometimes.  The students love it, it’s a great tactile experience, but some of my little charges take it a step further.  They eat it.  They lick their hands.  You’d think they’d think, ewww, gross, I’m so NOT doing that again.  Nope, that would ideally be what happens.  No, they eat it again and again.  Some just eat it out of the bucket, but then there are those select few who choose to pick it up off the floor (this is play-dough that has been stuck to someone’s shoe), roll it into a small ball and eat it.  You know what, these are the children who are NEVER sick.  ROFL…  Just about every one of my classes has had a child who would do this.  This year is no different.  I watch them do it while I’m trying to teach at our group time (a.k.a. circle time).  I’ve had to stop a lesson to remind a child (for the tenth time or more) to not eat the play-dough, especially the play-dough that is on the floor.  GROSS! 

The things I see while trying to relay the importance of the alphabet, the weather, the calendar or whatever daily lesson I’ve planned, will sometimes make me lose my train of thought.  The worst part is I have to try REALLY hard not to laugh, and I don’t want to embarrass the child who’s doing it either.  I’ve got a treasure trove of these. 

So here’s another life lesson for you:  Don’t eat the play-dough off of the floor.  You don’t know where it’s been, who’s touched it, and in the words of my mom “Think of the germs!”   I’m sure that could be applied to the many things that we put in our mouths. 

Here’s another side note:  I forgot the life lesson for yesterday.  Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal.  It’s rude and if it doesn’t belong to you, you shouldn’t touch it without asking.  Oh, and you cannot possibly make friends by destroying what belongs to someone else. 

I really need to figure out this blogging thing.  I really do.  Maybe I need to ask one of my preschoolers. 

Toodles for now!

Mrs. V

3 Responses to “Don’t Eat Play-dough off of the floor…”

  1. RC January 20, 2008 at 10:02 pm #

    You’ll figure it out… And, some of the smiley faces actually do work in the blog world. But, my tip for the day – stay away from the dreaded text-messaging abbreviations. Makes it difficult for some of the less-computer-literate folks to read. JMHO… 😉

  2. Julie January 21, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    I think you’re doing very good at the blogging thing so far! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ripped from the Headlines… « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - February 26, 2009

    […] Play Dough! Toy or Snack? […]

Leave a Reply

