Make-up Emergency?

22 Jan

    You can always use the washable markers, since they come in array of fabulous colors!  Or better yet, use the smelly markers, and not only look beautiful, but smell absolutely yummy too!! 

    I cannot count the times I have caught children (mostly girls, although once in awhile boys) who choose to use markers as lip gloss, eye shadow and cheek blush.  I’m sure some parents wonder if we’re actually watching their children. 

    In recent history one little girl, noticing that I was watching her use a pink marker, turned her head away from me and applied some of that same pink marker on her eyelid, and then turned back towards me and smiled.  What am I supposed to say to that?  You’d think she’d wonder what I would have to say.  However, she didn’t wait, and quickly turned her head again to apply that same pink marker around her lips.  Then, she turned back and smiled at me again.  Ummm, okay, I agree it’s a lovely shade of pink, but it DOES NOT belong on your body! 

    Of course this happened in a very short period of time, a matter of seconds really.  I find that as an adult my processing/reaction time is slowing, and as a preschool teacher, this is probably not a good thing.  I think it was actually a matter of my not believing what I just saw.  These kids are so darn quick about things, and it never ceases to amaze me just how brazen some children are.  Most of them would not be so bold as to apply their “make-up” right in front of me, but this little one totally surprised me.  I do make them wash it off, and remind them that markers are for paper, since that is my job.

    Yes, this marker make-up is another thing I see at group time, a fabulous assortment of colors on faces and other body parts (but that’s another blog.)  Sometimes I think the child has hurt themselves and I’ve missed something, when in fact it’s just strategically placed red marker on the eyebrow.  Which still means I missed something.  Oh, the joys of tracking 20 children!

    I know they aren’t doing it to be “naughty” or defiant (in most cases), but they are exploring their environment.  I sometimes think they are also exploring the teachers’ reactions, too.  Which is part of the their environment, I guess!

    I don’t know if there’s a life lesson in this tonight.  I’ll have to think on it.  The obvious one is that markers do not make good make-up, but what’s the fun in that?

    Maybe I’ll think it up for my next blog.  Any suggestions?

    Thanks for reading!

    Mrs. V

    2 Responses to “Make-up Emergency?”

    1. Julie January 23, 2008 at 10:59 pm #

      My boys never wrote on themselves, but my girls were GOOD at it! *lol* … Never on their faces though. Their bellies were their canvas of choice! 😉

    2. mrsvierkant January 24, 2008 at 6:14 am #

      I love it when kids come to school and show me their belly artwork. Some of them are pretty creative!

    Leave a Reply

