Naptime

23 Jan

I really wish my preschool had naptime.  Not necessarily for the kids, but for me. 

I’m tired today.  Exhausted, to be honest.  I shouldn’t be, since I had Monday off (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day).  I subbed yesterday for a fellow teacher who has whatever creepy crud is circulating right now.  I worked today.  I may end up subbing tomorrow, and I have to work on Friday.  I’m okay with that, but my body is screaming for sleep.  (I think it’s from the lack of sleep last week.)

So why am I up typing?  Because I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to sleep just yet.  I just got home from a dinner party with my co-workers, so my brain is still “on” and not quite ready for sleep mode.  So I think we should start having naptime at preschool tomorrow, especially if I have to sub again.  It’s just a thought.  I don’t think my director will go for it though.  Come to think of it, I don’t think the kids would either.

I’m hoping I don’t have to sub, because I need groceries.  We are approaching that desperate point of not having anything in the house to eat, and that’s not a good thing with two tweens.  We do have food to eat, but I’m running out of ideas of what to do with the food we do have, that my children will actually eat.  Also my laundry is taking over my lower level, the bathrooms are approaching a stage beyond gross, my kitchen could violate health codes, and the dust, I really don’t want to think about the dust. 

So, I’m thinking about naptimes.  I wish I was 4 and one of the few things I had to worry about was whether or not I had to take a nap.  It was so much simpler then.  Why do children resist naps?  Don’t they realize how vital they’ll become? 

So that’s my thought for today.  Take lots of naps.  Somedays it’s just more important than doing the laundry.   

See you later,

Mrs. V

2 Responses to “Naptime”

  1. Julie January 23, 2008 at 11:01 pm #

    My husband would agree with you, with his whole heart! 😆

  2. RC January 24, 2008 at 2:18 pm #

    I’ve tried to bring naptime to corporate America, but unless you are pregnant and can barely move, much less sleep comfortably, most bosses frown upon finding you asleep at your desk.

Leave a Reply

