Please don’t wipe your nose on my clothes.

28 Jan

Just consider this part two of yesterday’s blog.

I think it was 4 years ago I had a student who liked to wipe her runny nose on just about anything, and it started to include the teachers’ shirts.  At first we didn’t realize what she was doing, but we caught on very quickly.  Then the fateful day came when she wiped her green gooey nose on the back of my sweater.  UGH!  Thanks kiddo…

And my response was “please don’t wipe your nose on my clothes.”  (I actually refrained from using the favored preschool term “boogers” and I am amazed.)  What did my runny-nose munchkin sized student do?  She giggled, saw it as a game and repeatedly tried to use me as her personal giant sized tissue for the rest of the day.  How many times is a person expected to say “use a kleenex” in one day?

I really do work in a petri dish, and this petri dish has live organisms that have sticky hands, fast feet, and runny noses.  I don’t stand a chance, do I?

Mrs. V

2 Responses to “Please don’t wipe your nose on my clothes.”

  1. RC January 28, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    Little Dude may have to come spend time with you. He loves, loves, loves wiping his nose on everything (I happily wear the mommy-badge of drool and baby snot most days).
    🙂

  2. Julie January 29, 2008 at 9:05 pm #

    Uck! My oldest was good at that when he was a baby… I am SO GLAD he outgrew it!!! … But at least he was mine, and not someone else’s kid… You can always tollerate things more when it’s your own kid doing it. *lol*

Leave a Reply

