A desperate plea to parents

31 Jan

Please read the newsletter and calendar we send home with your child.  It has vital information on it.  If you knew how many hours I put into typing up just the right newsletter and finding cute little clip art for the calendar, I think you’d be shocked.  I’m not even talking about the hours I put into the lesson planning, just the themes for each month.   

I attempt to make it attention grabbing and interesting, since there is so much going on in our classroom.  I realize you have busy lives and things slip by and go unnoticed.  It happens in my house too.  However, if you could please check your child’s back pack when he/she comes home from school, you might be pleasantly surprised!

Not only is there beautiful artwork handmade by your child, wet snowpants, and the occasional stray sock, but somewhere (probably near the bottom) will be a crumpled piece of 8.5 x 11 paper in an eye catching color (most likely pink for this month, since it is February.)  Do me a favor and READ it, don’t just scan it over, but really READ it.  (The calendar is on one side, the newsletter is on the other.) Hang it on your refrigerator and refer to it often for guidance.  This way you’ll know what your child will be doing, what needs to be sent to school, when school is closed for a holiday, and other pertinent information.

Believe me, you’ll be grateful if you follow this advice.  We have a Valentine’s Party, Picture Day, Teddy Bear Day and Pajama Day this month.  We’re also asking you to mail your child a letter to the school address.  You’ll save yourself many tears (from your child) and embarrassment (for yourself) if you just READ and FOLLOW what is written on the calendar/newsletter.

Like I said, I understand that things get misplaced, lost and forgotten.  I’ve been there myself.  Just ask us for another calendar, it’s okay, we have plenty to spare.  You know that your child gets one the first day of every new month at school, so if you haven’t seen one by Wednesday, you’ll know you need this important piece of paper.

I know this is just preschool, but consider this batting practice for the schooling yet to come, when you are showered with a paper parade that is frightening at times.  I know you’ve got other children who have other papers, and you’ve lost your counter top in the mass of piles that have formed there.  I understand.  But this is one piece of paper, in a lovely shade of pink, and I think it would look wonderful on your refrigerator.

Enough said.  Getting down off my soapbox now.

Mrs. V

P.S. Parents, I really do appreciate your hard work and dedication to your child’s education.  I just needed to vent a little. 

2 Responses to “A desperate plea to parents”

  1. Julie February 1, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    If my kids went to public school, I would read the newsletter… Promise! 😀

  2. RC February 1, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    It is all about you, isn’t it? 😉

Leave a Reply

