Reflections

5 Feb

I love watching preschoolers watch themselves in the mirror.  I wonder what they think about and what they’ll remember.  I teach preschoolers knowing that most of them will not remember me or our school.  I try not to be sad about it, since it is the way things are.  However, I’m hoping there will be those few children who have an excellent memory who will remember their preschool experience and maybe even me.

I like to think I have a pretty good memory of my childhood.  I do remember many things about being 3,4 and 5.  So, I decided to list them today, as I remember them. 

Things I remember from when I was 3,4 and 5: 

I remember watching Captain Kangaroo and Sesame Street.

I remember believing in Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy.

My Favorite Book was Where Did the Baby Go?

I remember naming my “Charlie” (my blanket).  I never would let anyone call it a blanket.  To this day, I’m sure “he” would be insulted.

I had a black and white panda teddy, a Mrs. Beasly and a Curious George for my stuffed animals.

I remember naps.

I remember the smell of a fresh can of Play-Doh being opened and being allowed to play with it on a piece of wax paper.

I remember living with my maternal grandmother when my dad and biological mother divorced.

I remember being convinced to eat dog food by my aunts who were also living at my grandmother’s house.

I remember waiting for my dad to come and pick me up on his day’s off from  my grandmother’s house, and watching for his car to come over the hill.

I remember riding in my dad’s GTO convertible, with the top down.

I remember spending time with my dad in his apartment and the games he played with me.

I remember believing in the Frizzly Bear that lived in the closet.  It really was my dad, and when I called him on it, he got my uncle to do it, which caused me to believe all over again.

I remember my dad marrying a great woman who became my mom.  Thanks dad!

I remember meeting my grandparents (mom’s parents) for the first time.  I was 3, and they were wonderful.

I remember their wedding, my purple and white dress, my Grandma (dad’s mom) and her big hoopy earrings, and the smell of cigarette smoke at the dance hall.  I loved watching the grown-ups play pool and dance.

I remember meeting my little sister #1 for the first time.

I remember moving back to the apartment and sharing a very small room with that baby sister.  I could reach her crib from my bed.

I remember when little sister pulled herself to standing in her crib, and how I yelled for mom, because I wasn’t sure she was supposed to be doing that!

I remember seeing that orange/red tricycle with the horn in the window of the second hand store that was below our apartment and wanting it.  I remember my parents buying it for me.  I remember treasuring that gift for years.  I even remember riding it up and down the sidewalk.

I remember being fascinated by the blue mailbox near our apartment.  (I’d open and shut it many times.)

I remember the girls I played with who lived next door to our apartment building.

I remember the porch swing that hanged from two very tall trees in my grandparents’ front yard.

I remember following Grandpa (mom’s dad) around his farm.  I remember filling cow tanks, feeding the cats, finding kittens, and being scared of the chickens.  I remember his patience and his smile. 

I remember my other Grandpa (dad’s dad) and the smell of pipe tobacco, and how when you were with him, he made you feel like you were his favorite person.

I remember my Grandma (mom’s mom) baking the best chocolate chip cookies in the world, and eating the wonderful dishes she made in their farmhouse kitchen. 

I remember learning to tie my shoes and being frustrated by the whole process.

I remember a Christmas at my grandparent’s farm when I received a large amount of Fisher-Price Little People toys (Village, A-Frame and Sesame Street.)  Those were my favorite toys, even when I was too old for toys.

I remember my dad talking me in to giving him a hint about his gift, because I knew I wasn’t supposed to tell him.  I said “now we can go fishing.”  Good hint, huh?

I remember my uncle’s house being built, and the hole in the ground for the basement.  I remember living there for a couple of years. 

I remember when my mom graduated from nursing school.  She was all dressed up in her starched whites with her nursing cap.

I remember riding the bus to kindergarten for the first time.

I remember my aunt (mom’s sister) who protected me from bullies on that bus.

I remember going to my kindergarten classroom and loving it.  I remember tempra paints, the play kitchen and the cardboard building blocks.  I remember my teacher being very nice.

There are many more memories, but I think I’ll stop there.  I think this is why I teach preschoolers.  I remember liking being 4 and 5.  I’m sure I’ll add more to the list as I think of them, but this is a start, I guess.

Thanks for reading!

Mrs. V

2 Responses to “Reflections”

  1. RC February 5, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    #1 – Of course I was supposed to be standing! Silly older sister…

    #2 – I remember being told you were my half-sister when I was about three or four. I remember trying to figure out which half… And since that couldn’t be answered, deciding it didn’t matter.

    #3 – I remember getting so angry at you one time that I yelled, “you aren’t even my real sister,” and regretting the words before they even completely came out of my mouth. I think that was the worst thing I can ever remember saying to you, knowing that I just wanted to hurt you back. I’m still sorry for it.

    Love you, and you are my real and whole sister (one I have always been proud and happy to have, even when you get all bossy and stuff…),

    RC

  2. Julie February 5, 2008 at 10:37 pm #

    Dog food? How nasty is that? And how old were your aunts?!

    Sounds like you have an great memory! I loved reading your memories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

