Teacher!!!!

7 Feb

This is said in many different vocal inflections.  Sometimes it is the loud, tattling voice, or in other instances it is the high-pitched whiny tone of someone not getting their way.  Or maybe they want to ask me a question, or they just need to use the bathroom.  The word is used when a child expresses their need for my attention, be it positive or negative.  My students know my name, they even come very close to pronouncing it correctly now and again, but they don’t use it.  Instead they holler “Teeeeeacherrrr.”  Do I mind?  After almost 6 years of teaching, it does not bother me.  (At least on most occasions.)

However, I have found it worries several parents.  Really bothers some more than others.  I try to tell the parents that it really does not irritate or worry me, and that many children do this every year. I’m used to being called “Teacher.”  Yet, parents still insist that their child call my assistant teacher and me by our names.  (That’s when I distract the parents with something else, because I don’t want the child to be uncomfortable.) 

I consider the title to be an honor.  When I walk in the door, I hang up my “Mom” hat and put on my “Teacher” hat.  I’m quite used to being called something other than my name.  (Insert joke here…)

The fun part of this label is that I volunteer at my daughter’s elementary school, where several of my preschoolers go to school after they leave my preschool, and they call me “Teacher” there too.  A few remember my name, but I suspect that most do not.  Most of the staff know what I do for a living, so they don’t question my “title” anymore.  The not-so-fun part is when my former charges inform their current teacher that I am “their old teacher.”  UGH…  That gets laughs, let me tell you!

Today I received a hug from a former student, and she called me “Teacher.”  She’s now a first grader, and her face lights up whenever she sees me.  It thrills me that she remembers who I am, even if she can’t remember my name.  Another reward of being a educator.  (Feeling a bit of Delphinium Twinkle coming through!)

In a couple of months (usually in the spring) when the children call me “Teacher” I call them “Student.”  They find it incredibly funny that I would do that.  I get told “you know my name!”  My response is “and you know mine!”  Then we have a good laugh.  I really only do this in the spring, because the children are usually very comfortable with me, have a more mature sense of humor, and it becomes a new lesson for moving on to Kindergarten.  How I miss them when they go!

So “Teacher” I am, and I really do like that title.  (Almost as much as I like being called “Mom.”) 

Mrs. V

3 Responses to “Teacher!!!!”

  1. RC February 7, 2008 at 10:16 pm #

    Can I come up with my own name for you? 😉

  2. Julie February 9, 2008 at 12:18 am #

    I’ll bet you’re a really good teacher too! Sounds like you are. 😀

  3. institutrice December 9, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    I’ve called kids “Student” and they didn’t get it either. 😉 A few of my friends teach in Philadelphia School District and the kids call them “Miss”. We met at an elementary charter school where some of the kids wanted to call me “Teacher”, but the sound of it just grated on my nerves, so I asked them to call me “Senorita” or “Maestra” since I taught Spanish. They did, and it was music to my ears. 🙂

Leave a Reply

