How do you spell your name?

10 Feb

My last name is unique and maybe even a little hard to spell.  I gave up a perfectly sane, simple to spell maiden name for a moniker I’ve used since July 1991.  I taught my kids how to spell it using the Hi-Ho, Hi-Ho song that the Dwarves sing in Snow White. 

When I spell it over the phone I use word cues (V as in Victor, etc…), and usually do not expect people to pronounce it correctly, unless they have a little German or Dutch in their ancestoral background.

It is amazing how many different ways people have of spelling my last name, and the pronunciations vary as well.

Several years ago at our preschool’s annual open house, I had a father of a student come up to me and asked to see my name tag, because he said “I want to know how you spell your name.”  I showed him and he seemed dissappointed and said “oh, that’s not what I thought.”  I went on to tell him that I know it’s difficult to spell and pronounce, and he said “it’s not that, it’s just that my son calls you Mrs. Beercan at home.”  Okay then…  How do you even respond to that, except with a good laugh?

So maybe that’s why I don’t mind when my students call me “Teacher.”  Seems simpler, don’t you agree?

 Mrs. V

3 Responses to “How do you spell your name?”

  1. Julie February 11, 2008 at 11:55 am #

    Mrs. Beercan… Now THAT is funny! *rofl*

  2. RC February 11, 2008 at 11:52 pm #

    That is how we knew it was love. You didn’t marry him for the difficult last name.

    Now me, I went from short to short and boring. 😦 Oh well, it was love…

  3. holly May 25, 2008 at 6:08 pm #

    Thats funny!
    My last name is Hoogestraat, its dutch as well and NO ONE says it right! Thank God I’m not a teacher… poor kids!
    The sad thing is that my last name was actually shortened by one of my great great grandfathers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

