Ch…Ch…Ch…Changes…

17 Feb

Part of being a teacher is dealing with changes.  Changes in curriculum, requirements, lesson plans, themes, behavior management, children, and the list goes on and on.  For the record, I HATE CHANGE!  Okay, maybe hate is too strong of a word, so I think I should say that I strongly dislike change.  I’m a very routine person, I’ll admit that.  I don’t even change my furniture around.  I can adapt to change, but it messes with my head.

The end of every school year brings change.  I become attached to my students.  We’re a class, we enjoy each other and we’re a part of each other’s lives.  I miss them (most of them anyway) when they go.  The biggest part of this change is that we have to start all over again with an (almost) completely new group of children.  How the year will start and end is an unknown, and I have a difficult time with the unknown.  In fact, I spend too much time worrying about the unknown.

I have been in a comfortable groove, since it is the middle of the school year, and now I’m being confronted with changes that are occurring in my life.  A dear friend may be moving before the end of the year, the (much beloved) head pastor of my church has retired, and there are staff changes coming to my preschool.  It’s the unknown and it has come in a tidal wave over the past couple of months.  I hope I can deal with this all in a good way, and not become overwhelmed with worry about how things will turn out.

Every school day in our classroom we transition quite a bit.  We have meet and greet time, play time, group time, play time, clean-up time, group time, handwashing, moving to our small classroom, snack time, play time, clean up time, get ready to go home/outside time, play time (outside in the play yard), and then dismissal.  Wow!  We do so much in the 2 3/4 hours they are with us.  A few of the children have a hard time with all the transitions, but we are fairly routine and they become comfortable with the pattern of our day.  And then there is a CHANGE in our plans.  Yikes…  Most of the students deal well with it, others do not.  I try to forewarn them, to talk through it with them, and occasionally that helps.  I feel for the ones who do not take it well, because I understand.  I don’t even like to change our routine!   🙂 

So I hope that while I deal with changes in my life, I can help those little ones deal with the changes in their lives.  I hope I’m more sensitive to the children who need it most.  Sometimes we get caught up in our adult lives and forget that children don’t quite see change like adults do.  Even adults view change differently.  I hope I can stop viewing the changes going on in my life as negative, because for the people who are making the changes it is a positive.

Mrs. V

4 Responses to “Ch…Ch…Ch…Changes…”

  1. sillyspring February 17, 2008 at 5:35 pm #

    I am a fellow change-hater, too. And as a momma of 4, I have seen my kiddos be change-haters. You are absolutely right- I think I need to try to change my view on change, too. Have a great day! Sillyspring

  2. RC February 17, 2008 at 10:09 pm #

    Now I have another song about “change” going through my head – The Wind of Change. Thanks for getting that 80s song stuck in my head…

  3. Julie February 19, 2008 at 12:37 am #

    I don’t mind change so much… Depending on what the change is. *lol* I’m sure you’ll get through it with flying colors!

  4. flatssm February 19, 2008 at 4:30 pm #

    I’m not moving anymore so that’s one less change you’ll have to deal with…. HA HA!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

