“You’re crazy, teacher.”

6 Mar

That just might be the understatement of the year, according to a few people. 

It is, however, a quote from one of my morning students.  This student likes to tell me this frequently and usually ends the statement with the question “You know that?”  Hmm, yeah, I probably know that, I teach preschool, don’t I?

Last Friday was Pancakes and Pajama day at Preschool.  (Yes, we worked on the letter “Pp”, as if that wasn’t obvious.)  I, of course, wore pajamas to school.  Who wouldn’t?  Apparently that qualifies me as crazy in some 4 year old minds.  I was told this repeatedly on Friday.  (Remembering, of course, that these are the same beings who choose to eat playdough, pick their noses, and lick the bottom of their shoes.)  Makes me wonder what their definition of crazy is.  (Scares me a little, really.)

Back to my pajamas.  They were really comfortable.  The shirt was blue with a moon and some stars and the pants were blue with moons and stars all over them.  Pretty tame, as far as jammies go.

I guess it’s the shock value that their teacher would actually wear her pajamas to school, but this is the first year that I’ve noticed that shock on so many of the children’s faces.   By the end of the day, they were fine with it, but I was still considered crazy.

The best part of the day was the pancakes.  Several parents volunteered their time, and helped with prep, cooking, serving and clean-up.   (No one wore their pajamas though, I was the only adult in pajamas!) The children absolutely loved it, and asked when we could do it again. 

So, it makes me a little sad that we only have 32 teaching days left in the school year.  So much to do, so little time.  Tomorrow we’re going on a field trip to the library.  It’s always a fun trip.  I wonder what “crazy” thing I’ll do tomorrow. 

My thought is it’s better to be called crazy than “Mr. Grumpy Pants” as a couple of morning friends have decided to call me, and they find it incredibly funny.  So much so, that they crack themselves up everytime they say it. 

Mrs. V

“They’re coming to take me away, ha-ha…”

3 Responses to ““You’re crazy, teacher.””

  1. RC March 6, 2008 at 10:43 pm #

    I’m amazed you wore pajamas, or maybe I’m not. I didn’t know that part of you still existed, in some ways…

    But then, I’ve known you have been crazy for years. But then we would have to start talking imaginations again…

  2. Julie March 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    I don’t know if I would wear Jammies to school or not… Maybe if I knew for sure that at least 2 other adults were. *lol*

  3. Love November 12, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    You must be a really sweet teacher. I mean if your student is that frank, it means you don’t scare him.
    And that’s a nice thing.

    All teachers aren’t like that.
    http://fluidwords.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/attack-of-the-freudians/

Leave a Reply

