Top five things I won’t say at conferences.

9 Mar

I have conferences coming up for my preschool students on the 19th and 21st.  So right now I’m in the middle of evaluating 38 students, and filling out pages of paperwork for each of them.  While the results are interesting and informative to me, it is not a fun process.  It takes away from my regular teaching time, regular prep work, and interaction with my students.  I’ve been evaluating students for the last two weeks, and I have 9 left to do.  They’ll get done this week.  (Which means I absolutely CANNOT get sick.) 

But on the humorous side of things, I’ve come up with a top five list of what I cannot say at conferences with the parents.  The list is tongue and cheek, and I really do enjoy each of my student’s personalities, it makes them who they are.  I also know how precious these children are to their parents.  However, I also know that comic relief is a good thing.

So here it is:

5. Your child has eaten twice his/her body weight in playdough this year.

4. Your child constantly rolls around on the floor at group time or line up time like his/her clothes are on fire.

3. Your child is incredibly loud and even more whiney.

2. Your child is sneaky and has the potential to become a successful shoplifter.

1. Your child is a royal pain in the a$$.  Seriously. 

I have a friend who swears that teachers have a “teacher code” way of saying things.  So instead my top 5 things said at conferences (which you’ll find below) will be the above 5 translated into “teacher code.”

5. Your child is still very oral.  I’m a little worried about the items he/she puts in their mouth.  Have you noticed this at home?

4. Your child is very active.  Group time and lining up time can be difficult for him/her.  He/She seems to prefer the outdoor active play.

3. Your child is very verbal, and likes to talk to the teachers and keep them informed on what is going on in the classroom.

2. Your child really likes the toys at preschool, and seems to like to take a part of school home with him/her, and sometimes needs to be reminded of what belongs to the school.

1. Your child has added so much to our classroom this year, it would not have been the same without him/her and we’re thrilled to say that he/she is ready for kindergarten.  (Seriously.) 

I guess I better get back to my conference papers.

Mrs. V

8 Responses to “Top five things I won’t say at conferences.”

  1. Stephanie March 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    LOL 🙂 I have a preschooler and it would be interesting to hear what his teacher honestly has to say about him! I know how Luke is at home and I’ve often wanted to be a fly on the wall to see how he behaves in school. Thanks for the post and the laughs!!

  2. Julie March 9, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    OMGoodness! LOVE the teacher code!!! *rofl*

  3. Ida March 9, 2008 at 2:09 pm #

    Thanks for the laugh.

  4. mrsmacheide March 9, 2008 at 9:27 pm #

    Great post. Now I know what the teachers were telling me when my kids were preschoolers. Thanks!

  5. RC March 9, 2008 at 11:11 pm #

    I better not hear these phrases when Little Dude begins preschool. 😉

    Okay, so just for a giggle, I think you need to go to my friend, Tendrils, Web site and check out her take on conferences – http://tendrils.wordpress.com. I was laughing way too hard when I read her take, and I think you two could compare notes. Seriously. (Or humorously…)

    Night-night!

  6. Daisy October 21, 2008 at 10:16 am #

    Okay, sometimes, I’m slow.. but just saw this posting and I LOVE IT!

    Ha ha ha. Particularly #1 in teacher code. So true! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ripped from the Headlines… « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - February 26, 2009

    […] Teacher promises to be completely honest with all parents this year.   (Teacher respectfully declined to take a lie detector test.) […]

  2. Oh, Hello November… « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - November 3, 2009

    […] may have to brush up on my teacher code if the chaos that was once my rather orderly classroom does not […]

Leave a Reply

