Where do you work?

20 Mar

A couple of weeks ago we had our much anticipated field trip to the public library.  As we’re riding on the bus and talking about the library and the librarian, and that her job is to take care of the books at the library, one of my students pointed out where his/her daddy works.  This same student then looks at me and asks me “Teacher, where do you work?”

That question always makes me giggle.  (I get asked that every school year.)

My reply was “I work at our preschool.”  The student’s reply: “That’s silly, you don’t work there, you’re my teacher.”  I’m still not sure if I should laugh or cry.

Mrs. V

3 Responses to “Where do you work?”

  1. RC March 20, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    **giggle**

  2. RC March 20, 2008 at 1:38 pm #

    In all honesty, I think kids equate “teacher” with “parent” in this regard. It isn’t so much a job as something “everyone” does.

  3. Julie March 20, 2008 at 2:01 pm #

    I never thought about that… That kids would think that being a teacher isn’t a job. How funny!

Leave a Reply

