Snow days

21 Mar

Usually I welcome snow days.  A snow day is usually a blessing.  A small break in the middle of the winter doldrums. However, today it’s not a blessing.  Today being a snow day is an inconvenience.   It’s also a sign that spring isn’t quite here. 

Today was supposed to be the second day of conferences for my preschoolers.  Today I was supposed to be done with most of the paperwork, the difficult conversations, the missing of my students and then I would be able to get back in my classroom on Monday.  (Conferences are held during regular school hours, my assistant teacher and a substitute handle the classes while I talk with parents.)

So now it’s a snow day.  School is closed.  **sigh** No conferences.  **sigh**  I will do them next week Friday, which means I will not see my little friends the last school day before we head off to Spring Break. 

This also means one less day to our school year.  Our school year that is down now to just 23 days.  That’s it.  I’ve only got about 69 hours left to teach each class what they need to know before kindergarten.  Where did my school year go? 

There is a good side to this snow day.  I’ll be cleaning up my house (not too deep, just shining it up for Easter), and maybe I’ll do some baking.  I’ll enjoy having my kids home.  I may even get all the laundry done and put away.  I hope I can take a nap and read a little today too. 

However, I hate to say it, but I really wish I was at school doing those conferences.

Mrs. V

3 Responses to “Snow days”

  1. RC March 21, 2008 at 1:11 pm #

    I just wish it wasn’t snowing. Again.

  2. mrsvierkant March 22, 2008 at 12:22 pm #

    Me too… It’s snowing again today. UGH…

    I’m so OVER winter.

  3. Julie March 23, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    I can’t believe that everyone is still getting snow! I would be so depressed!!!

Leave a Reply

