Happy Easter

23 Mar

I love Easter.  The Christian side of it, as well as the secular side.  This year I won’t get to celebrate it with my preschoolers. 

Last week was St. Patrick’s Day and rainbows, this week we’re getting a visit from the dentist.  Somehow jelly beans and chocolate bunnies don’t seem to fit in with the whole dentist and healthy teeth theme.  I guess I could’ve scheduled it in, but I would’ve missed it anyway with the whole conferences and snow day thing.  So, we will miss having Easter fun at preschool this year.

However, it is a different story on the home front.  We’re still having our Easter fun, even though my kids are a little beyond the Easter Bunny stage at 12 and 9.5 years.  Last night we dyed eggs (and fingers.)  We had an egg hunt (indoors, as always) early this morning and checked out the goodies in our baskets.  We got all gussied up and then  we went to the 8 am service at our church.  **yawn** We ate the breakfast being served at the church.  (Love the egg bake, delicious.)  We even took pictures of the kids after church. 

We’ll have ham for Easter dinner tonight.  (It is in the slow cooker.)  I’m hoping, really hoping that it tastes almost like the ham I remember from my childhood that we would have at my paternal grandparents’ house on Easter Sunday.  (My dad’s dad was a pretty amazing cook for those holiday dinners.) 

I will deliver some Easter flowers to some of our church members who are shut-ins after lunch.  I look forward to brightening their day a little.

I will also do schoolwork.  Hmmm, it’s a holiday and I’m still doing schoolwork.  Irritates me just a little, but I did get a snow day, right?  I guess the hardest part is that I’ll actually have to go into school to work on things.  UGH…  Not what I want to be doing on Easter.  These are things that could’ve been done on Friday had it not been for the snow day.  **rolling my eyes**  I will survive, I’m sure.  🙂

Mrs. V

3 Responses to “Happy Easter”

  1. debra March 23, 2008 at 10:58 am #

    Happy Easter to you and your family!

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. I read through a few posts here as well and I love hearing about the children. I’ll be back!

    Have a great week.

  2. RC March 23, 2008 at 5:05 pm #

    Happy Easter! I have work to do tonight, too, but I can do that here. And I may be taking Supercat to the vet in the morning, so that is how my Easter is going.

  3. Julie March 24, 2008 at 5:15 pm #

    Sounds like you had a great Easter!!!

    I’ve never thought to put a ham in the crock pot. I may have to try that sometime. 😀

Leave a Reply

