Pop goes the weasel…

1 Apr

Get your minds outta the gutter people.  Honestly!  It’s about the song and I have another question for you.

Did the monkey chase the weasel around the cobbler’s bench or the mulberry bush? 

You know:

All around the cobbler’s bench (or mulberry bush) the monkey chased the weasel,

The monkey thought ’twas all in fun,

Pop goes the weasel!

My father in law insists that it is the mulberry bush.  I’m pretty sure it’s the cobbler’s bench.  My research suggests that it is the cobbler’s bench.  What’s your take?

Mrs. V

8 Responses to “Pop goes the weasel…”

  1. Michelle April 1, 2008 at 8:39 am #

    I thought it was mulberry bush…..but there is also a different mulberry bush nursery rhyme:

    Here we go round the mulberry bush
    the mulberry bush, the mulberry bush…
    Here we go round the mulberry bush
    on a cold and frosty morning.

    (perhaps they were chasing a monkey and weasel while they were going around?…)

  2. RC April 1, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    Mulberry bush. Although, I think our mother sings cobbler bench.

    However, I distinctly remember learning mulberry bush in day care.

  3. Julie April 1, 2008 at 11:12 am #

    That’s a song I don’t know… I just know the tune from Jack-in-the-Box. (not the fast food place) *lol*

  4. mrsmacheide April 1, 2008 at 7:35 pm #

    I grew up learning that it was the mulberry bush.

  5. Nicola April 1, 2008 at 9:21 pm #

    It’s Mulberry Bush on my planet 🙂

  6. Ida April 5, 2008 at 9:56 pm #

    I have no clue (I had Italian Nursery rhymes… trust me when I say I would have preferred the American Nursery rhymes.) I have to wonder if some of the ones I grew up with where taken from Godfather movies.

  7. Russell May 27, 2008 at 2:22 am #

    Mulberry bush, Cobbler bench is a different nursery rhyme, but the tune is very similar.

  8. John August 29, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    This is how I sing it…

    All around the mulberry bush the monkey chased the weasel and all around the mulberry bush pop! goes the weasel. A penny for a spool of thread a penny for a needle that’s the way the money goes pop! goes the weasel. Round and round the cobbler’s bench the monkey chased the weasel the monkey thought ’twas all in fun pop! goes the weasel…

Leave a Reply

