What I did on my Spring Break

6 Apr

It’s back to work for me tomorrow.  That means the alarm will be going off at 5-freakin’ a.m. tomorrow morning.  Have I ever mentioned how I detest that hour of the day?  I’m sure I did.  I will miss my “Spring Break hours.”

I did have a nice break, though.  It included not only plenty of much needed sleep, but that trip to the waterpark. I finished reading Eat, Pray, Love (which I would underline, except that it isn’t working for me-darn it!), started a new book, watched movies (Blades of Glory, The Devil Wears Prada, and a few others), spent untold hours playing on the computer, did a little shopping and we also bought a Honda CRV.

Yes, that’s right friends and family, the van (which was seriously cursed) is gone! In my garage is parked a sparkly new CRV. It’s dark blue, it has a moon roof, and while it doesn’t have heated seats, it’s got the MP3 spot for my iPod. I’m doing the **happy dance** right now. We actually have 2 vehicles we can trust, from a dealership we are daring to trust. We’re going to buy a bike mount for the trailer hitch that is going to be installed and we’re going to take family biking trips this summer. I’m ecstatic! (We’re also getting a roof rack, front splash guards and cargo cover. Hubby said no to the chrome… darn!)

So no, I did not have my Johnny Depp Pirate movie-thon, I did not clean my office (are you really that surprised by that fact?), I didn’t read as many books as I had planned, and the tops of my kitchen cupboards remain dusty, but I’m happy. Seriously happy, well rested, and ready to take on my final 20 days of teaching, 22 days of work, whatever training hours I’m signed up for, and whatever volunteering I said yes to. Because I have wheels. Shiny new wheels to take me to all the places that I need to be.

We hadn’t been planning to buy this past weekend, but they gave us an offer we couldn’t refuse (hearing the Godfather in my head). However, the van was leaking orange antifreeze again (4 radiator repairs in 15 months tends to make you jumpy) , and our 75,000 mile warranty just expired. No time like the present as they say. (Who are “they” anyway?) Hubby has been doing the research/planning of this for months, so we were technically “ready”, we just needed the push in the right direction.

For those of you are wondering, yes we bought the warranty. 120,000 miles for 8 years. I’m hoping we never need it (according to all “the magazines”, we shouldn’t), but as our van showed us (time and time again), a warranty can be the most important vehicle accessory you purchase. Oh, and a dealership who hasn’t screwed you over time and time again… added bonus!

Mrs. V
(Who still wants a Shelby Mustang GT, but loves, loves, loves her CRV)

4 Responses to “What I did on my Spring Break”

  1. Julie April 6, 2008 at 10:19 pm #

    Congrats on the new ride! It sounds really nice!… Sounds like you had a very nice spring break!… Hard to believe that summer vacation is so close, huh?

  2. Ida April 7, 2008 at 5:55 am #

    So I guess we know who’s driving up to the city next time. ;o) Congrats. And heated seats are way over rated….(except in the winter months)

  3. RC April 7, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    Enjoy! I’ve heard good and bad on that book, so I’ll have to ask for your take on it later.

    I’ve heard the author is, “full of herself,” and that she can’t see beyond her own needs. Others say they love it.

  4. ~m April 7, 2008 at 8:11 pm #

    Happy? Oh, happy is very good.
    I’m glad you had some nice time off.
    An Ipod lady, eh?
    I’ll send an original Christmas song your way if you’d like to hear me sing. It should work on your Ipod.
    let me know.
    be safe, be well,

    ~m

    ps. thanks so much for all the comments. much appreciated 😉

Leave a Reply

