Lasting Impressions

8 Apr

Today I recognized a parent of a former student and called her by her name, and asked how her 2 older boys were by their names.  She told me that I was amazing for having remembered all of that.  I thanked her, of course, but as I walked away, I realized I should be thanking her.

I remembered her because she’s a remarkable woman and dedicated mother of 3 young boys.  She endlessly complimented me when I taught her son, and wrote me the most beautiful note at the end of the school year.  She made a wonderful impression on me that has lasted and will last for a long time.

I teach approximately 40 students per year, and I remember their names and their parents’ names during the school year.  Unfortunately, by the next year with 40 new families to become familiar with, some of the old names fade.  Oh, I recognize faces, but the names slip away.   

Impressions, good or bad, will keep some of their names with me.  I always hope for the good impressions, but I also know that there will always be those stories, the ones that made a bad impression, that will keep those names (and faces) with me. 

A few weeks ago I ran into another parent of a former student and this time it was a student who had been a challenge for not one, but two years.  Wow…  No wonder I remembered all of their names.  You’d think that it would be a negative thing, but really the sting of the challenge has faded over time, and I remember that student with a particular fondness.

I know I have one student this year who will leave a lasting impression on me.  Right now it is the challenge that will help me remember the name, but there will always be that special place in my heart that will help me remember this unique child’s name.   

What can I say?  I always fall for the ones I think I can change, but I can’t.   

It’s a miracle that I married a good guy, really it is!

Mrs. V

4 Responses to “Lasting Impressions”

  1. RC April 8, 2008 at 8:52 pm #

    And to think… You could have married one of the “bad boys” you left for me… 😉

  2. debra April 9, 2008 at 12:55 am #

    I was always amazed when I would visit my old high school that my teachers remembered my name. Now you have me wondering what else they were remembering about me! 🙂

  3. Michelle April 9, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    You are in a position to shape lives and make a tremendous difference in the future of the young ones you teach, and I suspect you DO change them in your way for the better. How many of us remember that special teacher that said that certain thing that changed the way we saw the world or what we believed was possible? I would remember the name of that person, wouldn’t you?

  4. Julie April 9, 2008 at 5:09 pm #

    Let’s hope none of my teachers remember me! *lol* … Just kidding!

Leave a Reply

