Springy Sunday

20 Apr

Spring has finally sprung where I live.  The skies are blue and sunny today, and I plan to enjoy them as much as possible! 

So before I go outside to play I will leave you with a poem I wrote, to try and dispel myself of any of my remaining “winter blues.”  Don’t expect too much though, since I’m not really poet, and boy don’t I know it.  **snicker**

Weighty Winter Worries

I don’t believe the numbers that I see on my scale,

I’ve started to feel like a bloated old whale.

The numbers have crept up, along with my age,

It’s really enough to throw me into a rage.

Those numbers, I’m sure, are completely wrong,

For I ate really well, and excercised all winter long.

It can’t be the Thanksgiving pies, Christmas cookies or New Year’s cake,

It must be some kind of joke, or worse yet, a mistake.

It can’t be the creamy dark chocolate, bourbon whiskey or white wine,

All of which, I’m very certain, tasted quite fine.

I jogged and I walked many long hours on the treadmill,

So I can’t understand those rude scale numbers still.

I’ll just blame age and genetics for my wrinkles and pudge,

And pray for a miracle to make those numbers budge.

Written by: Mrs. V, April 18, 2008

Please do not use without permission from me.

That’s all!

Mrs. V

5 Responses to “Springy Sunday”

  1. RC April 20, 2008 at 5:27 pm #

    I still want to see “Growing Old… Is it worth it?” posted.

    Yes, I remember these things…

  2. Julie April 20, 2008 at 7:16 pm #

    *rofl* Now THAT was funny!… And so true, so true. *sigh* 😉

  3. Julie April 20, 2008 at 7:17 pm #

    I was talking about ME, not you… Just wanted to make that clear. *lol*

  4. mrsmacheide April 20, 2008 at 7:33 pm #

    lol! That poem was absolutely wonderful. You are a great poet.

  5. Michelle April 20, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    I know of the numbers revealed on the scale…
    the ones that can creep up per diem…
    They may not be quite in the range that you’d like…
    just be glad that at least you can see ’em!!!!

    (Getting older is tough…..but just think of the alternative…funny stuff!)

Leave a Reply

