“Give ’em the ol’ Razzle Dazzle”

28 Apr

Have you ever seen the musical, Chicago?  I’ve seen the movie (very nice) and the stage show on Broadway in NYC (totally and completely awesome.) 

I have found that teaching preschoolers is a lot of “Razzle Dazzle.” 

To quote some of the fabulously written lyrics:

 “Give ’em the old razzle dazzle
Razzle Dazzle ’em
Give ’em an act with lots of flash in it
And the reaction will be passionate
Give ’em the old hocus pocus
Bead and feather ’em
How can they see with sequins in their eyes?”

I’ve become an expert at the “Razzle Dazzle” of teaching preschoolers.  I sing, I dance, I act silly, I make puppets talk, and I try to make learning fun.  I also do it to keep their attention.  In this age of split-second attention spans, and continuous flashy entertainment it feels like it has become a necessary tool for teaching.  To be truthful, some days the whole “performance” side of teaching feels forced.  Some days I really don’t feel like going into my song and dance routine.  Some days I’d just like those little ones to sit and listen to what I have to say, just because that’s what they should do.  However, I know better.  So I do it.  I entertain them in the hopes that I am teaching my students.

I fear that my “Razzle Dazzle” isn’t holding their attention anymore.  So, it must be close to summer break.  Either that, or the hook is waiting in the wings to pull me off stage.  Time will tell, I guess.

Mrs. V

(I can’t get that song outta my head now…)

One Response to ““Give ’em the ol’ Razzle Dazzle””

  1. Julie April 29, 2008 at 9:43 am #

    I don’t know if I could “razzle-dazzle” all year long. I don’t know if I have enough of an imagination. *lol* … I’m sure your students adore you though!!!

Leave a Reply

