“I meant what I said, and I said what I meant…”

30 Apr

This teacher is fed-up… 100%! 

Thank goodness I have Friday off.  I get one paid personal day each school year (yes, folks…  you read right, ONE) and I’m taking it on Friday.  YAY!! 

Why are my students pushing, hitting, kicking, fighting, spitting, tattling and every other “ing” that makes me nuts?  It must be spring fever.

The best thing about today:  The t-shirt painting, it really was a lot of fun and the shirts are really cute.  The children also know the difference between arachnids and other insects.  Woohoo! 

The worst thing:  A broken collar bone for one of my students.  It was a total accident.  Two children dancing (nothing wild, just fun) and the one fell on the other.  Kudos to my assistant teacher for handling it.  The parents handled it well.  To quote the father “Dancing with girls will always lead to trouble.”   

Chaos was today’s theme and we handled it, we survived, but holy smokes are we tired! 

I am so glad I have Friday off.  Then I can finish out May feeling refreshed and renewed.  Right?  I hope so!

Mrs. V

(The title is a quote from the Dr. Seuss book: Horton Hatches an Egg)

6 Responses to ““I meant what I said, and I said what I meant…””

  1. debra April 30, 2008 at 5:32 pm #

    A random day off is the best! I hope yours is wonderfully relaxing and whatever else you want it to be. 🙂

  2. kweenmama April 30, 2008 at 8:46 pm #

    Your post brings back memories of when I owned my own preschool. Sometimes I miss it. I hope you enjoy your day off!

  3. RC April 30, 2008 at 10:18 pm #

    Broken collar bone? Don’t you people watch the children in your care?!?!?!?

    (Had to say it, since the parents let you all off easily… Love ya!)

  4. Julie May 1, 2008 at 12:12 am #

    Poor little kid!! When my niece was 5-ish (or maybe she was 4???) she broke her collar bone too. I *think* she was bouncing on a bed at the babysitter’s and fell off.

  5. Frontier Former Editor May 1, 2008 at 12:04 pm #

    You should have paid heed to the Baptists’ warning about sex – it leads to dancing!

  6. kiri8 May 2, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    Oh, I feel for you. One personal day per year is about 12 too few! I hope it is a wonderful day.

    From Mrs. V: It went well. I can’t really complain about having just 1 day, since I do have the summers off, LOL! (Sick days/funerals etc… count differently too.)

Leave a Reply

