Classroom Conversations

19 May

This is what I will miss the most when summer break begins, the conversations my students have with each other. A couple of examples for your enjoyment:

Conversation #1:

Boy A: “Come look at my guns!”

This of course catches my attention, since we don’t allow gun play at preschool. (A topic for another day.) So when I start to observe the play, I see Boy A flexing his biceps, and I choke down a laugh.

Boy B: “My guns are bigger!” This child flexes his biceps.

Boy C: “My Dad’s guns are the biggest of all, but look at my guns.” Also flexing his biceps.

Then the discussion then continues about who’s father has the biggest guns, before moving on to something else completely unrelated to “guns.”

How I was not rolling around on the floor in hysterical laughter is unimaginable, but I did keep control of myself. Really, I did.

Conversation #2:

A little background for you: At the end of the year we pass out a book to each child that is a collection of short stories based on the childrens’ adventures with the character in our literacy bag. The students write these stories with their families, the preschool secretary compiles all the stories, we take a picture of each child with the character and this photo is glued on the front of their own book that they get to take home. They received these books last week.

Girl A: “Look at my picture, the teacher said it was in October.”

Girl B: “Mine was from a long time ago too.”

Girl A: “Man, those were the good ol’ days.”

They make me laugh. I love that!

Mrs. V

4 Responses to “Classroom Conversations”

  1. RC May 19, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    I miss those good ol’ days. Little Dude was a lot smaller then.

  2. Julie May 20, 2008 at 8:02 am #

    The good ole days! *rofl* … Now THAT is beyond adorable!!!

    Joe has thought my boys to kiss their “guns” 😉

  3. michaelm May 21, 2008 at 7:02 pm #

    Guns. Ayup.
    In ten years time, “guns” will take on an entirely new meaning.
    I think.
    God, this was funny.
    ~m

  4. debra May 21, 2008 at 7:16 pm #

    I’m going to miss hearing about these conversations over the summer too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

