Thank you notes

29 May

I love the gifts my students and their families give me.  I appreciate the generosity and the thought that is put into these presents.  So why is it so hard for me to write a thank you note? 

I have 29 thank you notes to send to be exact.  I’ve gotten 15 written, put in envelopes and stamped.  I have 14 more to go.  (Oh good, I still have my mathematic abilities.) 

I don’t want to seem ungrateful.  I’m just being honest.  I don’t like writing thank you notes.  It just starts to feel generic when you write so many of them. 

I do know that the children will love to receive their own piece of mail.  So that is why I’m doing it.  It is their smiling faces that is making me put pen to paper and write those thank you notes. 

However my hand is starting to throb and my eyes are starting to cross.  I really hope that the envelope glue isn’t toxic either.  Yuck… (Remember the Seinfeld episode with George’s girlfriend Susan?)

Laughter always seems to be the best medicine!
Mrs. V

Toxic envelope glue

10 Responses to “Thank you notes”

  1. RC May 29, 2008 at 8:55 pm #

    Get writing & get off the internet!

  2. mrsvierkant May 29, 2008 at 9:00 pm #

    You seem to forget yesterday’s post.

    https://mrsvierkant.wordpress.com/2008/05/28/procrastination-solution/

    I technically am writing… And now I will get off the internet. 😀

  3. Julie May 30, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    I think it would get pretty boring to write that many thank you notes!… But the kids will be thrilled. 😀

  4. Betty May 30, 2008 at 1:43 pm #

    I know what you mean. It’s like signing all of those yearbooks at the end of each year. You know people will be reading your comments forever, and sometimes it’s hard to come up with just the right thing to say. Hang in there!

  5. mrsmacheide May 30, 2008 at 2:57 pm #

    I agree wholeheartedly. I have such a difficult time writing multiple thank yous. I always feel like it sounds so insincere because of the repetitiveness of it. I always hope the recipients don’t compare notes because they begin to sound so similar almost like a form letter.

    I know the kids will love receiving mail (I know I do even to this day … with the exception of junk mail and bills of course).

  6. joanharvest May 30, 2008 at 4:33 pm #

    I haven’t licked an envelope since that episode of Seinfeld. I always use a wet sponge. I must have past the fear onto my daughter because she won’t lick envelopes either.

    I’m sure the kids will love the thank you notes and it will be worth it in the end.

  7. michaelm June 2, 2008 at 7:57 pm #

    Why does this not surprise me with you?
    Listen, you are now exempt from commenting on my blog until the notes are done, okay?
    Somethings are just more important (like thank you notes to a child)
    Do your thing. We’re not going anywhere . . .

    ~m

  8. michaelm June 2, 2008 at 7:58 pm #

    btw- as I once said, you must be an awesome teacher to feel the way you do about your kids. We need so many more like you.
    ~m

  9. mrsvierkant June 2, 2008 at 8:31 pm #

    hey there ~m…

    I finished the notes on Sunday, and put them in the mail today.

    Yay for me! 😀

    So now I can blog almost guilt free… LOL

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Closure « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - June 7, 2009

    […] I have written my preschool thank you notes.  That act brings this past school year to a […]

Leave a Reply

