And the words of the day are…

8 Jun

1. Disrespectment: Something disrespectful that causes embarrassment to another party. Example: According to my daughter “making fun of the president in a video game is disrespectment.”

2. Combinated: When a combination is combined. Example: According to my son “they were combinated to make the ultimate defense” (I’m sure he’s referring to a video game.)

3. Paradimensionalalienaphobia: This is the fear of aliens from another dimension. Example: According to my son (although my daughter agrees) “the aliens in Indiana Jones 4 can cause paradimensionalalienaphobia.”

My children have “combinated” actual words to come up with new ones. I really hope it doesn’t cause “disrespectment” to English language teachers everywhere.

Children are “funtastic” if you ask me!

Mrs. V

8 Responses to “And the words of the day are…”

  1. kiri8 June 8, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    My kids haven’t been making up too many words lately, but the younger one had lots of good mispronunciations when he was little. The plural of dinosaur was “dinosaurn” and the plural of monster was “monstern.” Granola bars were “vinola bars” (I was “menembering” that today at the grocery store). My favorite, though, was his pronunciation of chocolate: cha-wockit. Thanks for the smile!

  2. mrsmacheide June 8, 2008 at 8:37 pm #

    You have some really clever kids. My kids, in their preschool days, would say a word for what they thought the correct word was but I don’t remember them ever doing something like this.

  3. Michelle June 8, 2008 at 10:03 pm #

    I a friend’s son used to say “Cornufornia” for California and recently my 21 month year old nephew responded to “see the seahorses?” with “ooh” hands out in front as if he was holding the reins and saying “gaddagump. gaddagump. gaddagump!”

    🙂

  4. Julie June 9, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    I don’t think I can even pronounce #3, much less spell it! *lol*

    Those are great! I’m so glad you wrote them down!

    And I have to agree with your daughter on #1!

  5. michael June 9, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    Oh, Gaad . . . . 😉
    I must be getting old.
    If I caught a child of mine doing this there would be hell to pay.
    What would Raymond Carver think?
    (please read “A small, good thing” before answering)
    ~m

  6. mrsvierkant June 9, 2008 at 8:57 pm #

    ~m

    You are a master of real words, so I understand your reaction to these artificial words. (I really don’t think it is an age thing.) 😉

    As a teacher, I cringe, and I am not a grammar/language expert.

    As a mom, I realize how quickly these childish things fade and I cherish them. (Sometimes quite selfishly.)

    The essay, by the way was amazing. However, I didn’t expect anything less than amazing, since it was your suggestion. 😀

    Thank you for sharing.

  7. michael June 10, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    I have loved Carver forever and thought that you would like that.
    If you ever get a chance, read “Cathedral”
    Equally amazing.
    If I could only write like that . . . (sigh)
    ~m

Leave a Reply

