Rocks rock

11 Jun

What you see are rocks, right?  Multiple sizes and colors.  Some are just one color, others are speckled.  Some are shiny and some are dull.  It’s pea gravel, actually.  It’s also used on playgrounds.  Our playground to be specific.

Preschoolers see those little pebbles as treasure.  They will spend their outside time digging through the gravel looking for that special rock as a treasure to keep. Or sometimes they just take a whole handful with them, since they can’t bear to part with any of those stones. 

I wonder how many pounds of these rocks are still hiding in jacket pockets, backpacks and shoes.  How many of these treasures were found in washing machines and dryers?  How many were swept up and tossed outside?  How many of these tiny rocks are in “special” places in the childrens’ bedrooms?  The last little treasures to serve as reminders of their days spent at our preschool.  

Children can find the extraordinary in the ordinary.  They often find the sparkle in something seen as dull. 

I wish more adults would do that.  I wish I could do it more often.

Mrs. V

6 Responses to “Rocks rock”

  1. RC June 11, 2008 at 9:30 pm #

    I know the sentiment of this post has me singing the following,

    “Help me if you can…
    I’ve got to get back to the House at Pooh Corner by one.
    You’d be surprise, there’s so much to be done…
    Count all the bees in the hive…
    Chase all the clouds from the sky…
    Back to the days of Christopher Robin and Pooh.

    It’s hard to explain how a few precious things,
    seem to follow throughout all our lives.
    After all is said and done I was watching my son, sleeping there with my bear by his side.
    So I tucked him in, I kissed him and as I was going,
    I swear that the old bear whispered, “Boy welcome home…”

    Or, you could be singing, “How high is the water, mama?” with me right now. 😉

  2. mrsvierkant June 11, 2008 at 9:45 pm #

    Actually, I was singing “Solid as a Rock” , but now it is back to “How high’s the water.” Thanks…

    The House at Pooh Corner does work well, doesn’t it? Good suggestion.

  3. plozano76 June 11, 2008 at 10:15 pm #

    My niece is 11 and she has a collection of prized rocks in her closet. I hope her enchantment never fades… I love the title of your blog, btw!!

  4. joanharvest June 12, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    Great post. Both my daughter and I still have rocks we have collected. I remember when my two kids were little and they would bring me rocks and sticks and various outdoor goodies to show me. I certainly miss those days.

  5. kiri8 June 12, 2008 at 11:08 am #

    It didn’t happen as often this year, but in years previous I would come home and at night empty my pockets to find rocks, twigs, buttons, barrettes, erasers, etc. that the children had given me.

    At our school it’s not rocks, but rubber chips. Terrific for the playground — nice and bouncy when you fall — but what a mess everywhere else.

  6. Julie June 12, 2008 at 1:01 pm #

    My kids collect rocks too. 🙂 … And sticks. They are very fond of their “special sticks” … Anyway, currently their main focus is lava rocks. Someone in the subdivision must have used them in their garden at one time, because there are some lava rocks in the ditches, and the kids are always THRILLED when they find one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

