Summer thoughts

25 Jun


School House

Without her small friends

Educator contemplates

Bittersweet summer

Mrs. V

A big thank you to  ~m over at Smoke and Mirrors for the haiku idea, and helping me move that writer’s block a little.

9 Responses to “Summer thoughts”

  1. Ingrid June 25, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    Thanks for posting the lovely haiku. I thought I was the only one missing her students. I sometimes wish for year round school as I do miss all my second graders over the summer. They are the happiest creatures on earth and I really love spending my days with them.
    I have been writing letters and that helps. I also continue to do an electronic newsletter to them over the summer.

    Call me crazy but I do not look forward to summer.

  2. RC June 25, 2008 at 11:21 am #

    How about some funny stories/memories about your darling little kids (AKA my niece & nephew)? I know you have a few…

  3. Julie June 25, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    Love the haiku… Missing the kids huh? You’re such a good teacher!

  4. debra June 25, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    Aahh! You’re so sweet to be missing your students already.

  5. michaelm June 25, 2008 at 8:31 pm #

    Awww, I really like this on so many levels.
    You really enjoy the kids, don’t you?
    Damn, it shows.
    Love it.
    As I said, the world needs more teachers like you, MrsV
    A+
    ~m

  6. mrsvierkant June 25, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    Ingrid: It really is a bittersweet thing for me. I love being home with my children and the fun summer offers, but I really miss being at school with my students. I feel “rusty” in August when we start up again.

    RC: I am thinking about that. I just want to be sensitive to B and C, since they sometimes like to read over my shoulder and I don’t want to embarrass them.

    Julie: I am missing my students. August will come quickly though.

    Debra: I even miss my playdoh eaters, LOL!

    ~m: Thanks for the grade. An A+ from you just makes my day. 🙂

  7. kiri8 June 26, 2008 at 10:33 am #

    I haven’t missed mine yet, I’ve been too busy with aggravating news about the grown-ups I work with. But my boys miss them! They love my preschool stories, and they have been bringing up various characters from this past year’s class. As for your writer’s block, maybe your writing brain just needs a well-deserved vacation. Rest! Read! Enjoy!

  8. writerchick June 26, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    Aw, that is so incredibly sweet and shows your love of what you do. Teachers rawk.
    Annie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Closure « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - June 7, 2009

    […] I miss my little friends. […]

Leave a Reply

