Painting Popcorn

9 Jul

Did that catch your attention?  Or am I just getting silly from all the paint fumes?

This is a popcorn ceiling. 

I have them all over my house, and the ceiling in the kids’ bathroom needed to be painted.

Most people with an ounce of sanity remove the popcorn stuff and then paint. 

I am not sane. 

I have painted many walls, but never a ceiling. 

As of today, I am no longer a ceiling painting virgin.

Behr Ceiling Paint : $20

Fancy-schmancy rollers: $8

Plastic sheeting and painter’s tape: $7

Bathroom size: Way too freakin’ small for all the painting supplies, ladder and me.

Time spent on this project: Too damn long.

Sense of balance: Pretty good, since I did not fall on my ass.

My appearance: Could pass for a white-speckled hobo who hasn’t showered in weeks.

Injuries sustained: Stiff neck, aching back, strained muscles from precariously odd (yoga-like) positions.

Painting a popcorn ceiling: Annoying as hell, and it tastes bad too.

Satisfaction of a job completed:  I’ll let you know tomorrow.

Going to bed and getting a good night’s sleep:  Priceless.

Mrs. V

10 Responses to “Painting Popcorn”

  1. joanharvest July 10, 2008 at 8:32 am #

    And I thought I was going to learn to make my evening popcorn snack more colorful. 😉

    Love the way you wrote this post. I have swirly ceilings that need painting. You are welcome over here anytime because it seems the dumbass men that live here are also lazy slackers.

  2. RC July 10, 2008 at 9:43 am #

    This is the reason we stayed away from popcorn texturing anywhere in our house…

  3. jen July 10, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    Couldn’t you just get some spray butter and call it done?? 😉
    I’m sooo done with painting. If I had to face that I woulda called a painter. 🙂

  4. Julie July 10, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    This is why I always have Joe do the ceilings. 😉

  5. writerchick July 10, 2008 at 5:31 pm #

    Mrs. V.
    One word : paint gun. Ever so much easier.
    Annie

  6. mrsvierkant July 10, 2008 at 9:30 pm #

    Annie: You are so right, LOL!

    Julie: It’s good to have a helpful hubby!

    Jen: ROFL! Probably would’ve been easier.

    RC: If we built a house we wouldn’t have them either. I hate them. A lot.

    Joan: At least I could give you a good laugh if I came to your house to paint. Swirly ceilings, huh? Sounds psychadelic.

  7. Michelle July 11, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    My neck hurts just thinking about it. I just try not to look up in my house. (or down for that matter…)

  8. Talula March 15, 2009 at 6:02 pm #

    OOOOOHHHHH! ROFL! You all make me wish I was back in the Pre-K classroom again with other teachers to gaggle with! Mrs. V You are an absolute riot in print — I would be down on my knees laughing in the Teacher’s Lounge (and probably trying not to pee my pants) if you were my real-life school colleague. Talula

  9. Rob1 September 5, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    Love this post!! thinking twice about painting over our popcorn ceiling (LOL).

  10. Tracy December 11, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    After painting all the rooms in my house and none of the ceilings, I’ve decided dusty grey ceilings aint so bad…. at least not bad enough to have me doing yoga positions to paint them!

Leave a Reply

