Midwest Airlines Review

20 Jul

Today I had one of those “I’m so putting this in my blog” moments.  Actually it was more like an hour, which is waaay less than my sweet little sis’ RC had to sacrifice to deal with the same issue. But I’m rambling…

They look so happy, don't they?

Midwest Airlines boasts “The Best Care in the Air.”  I’ve only flown that airline once, and although it was many years ago, I do remember the experience as a pleasant one.  So when it came to booking our flight to Florida, we chose them, 6 months in advance.  We chose them because they come highly recommended, don’t often cancel/change flights, take care of their customers, get good reviews, yada-yada…

A few short weeks ago I received a call and an email from Midwest stating that our flight times had changed. I spent an hour on the phone with customer service and we rearranged all of our flight times. It was annoying, but I figured it was part of flying and they did notify me and they fixed the situation, in a polite manner.  I asked the customer service rep if this would happen again. While she couldn’t tell me no, and I don’t remember what her exact response was, I ended the call with a feeling that everything would be okay. They have great customer service, after all.

However, as of today, we won’t get to experience “the best care in the air”, because just a few short months before our trip and after one schedule change already, Midwest Airlines has cancelled all flights to and from Orlando until AFTER our trip.  How did I find out about this?  From their wonderful customer service?  Via email?  Via urgent voice mail message from Midwest?

Nope.

I was informed by my parents, who read this article in their Sunday morning paper, and left me the urgent voice mail. Wasn’t it nice of Midwest Airlines to issue the press release before notifying their customers, who already paid for their tickets several months ago? Oh, yeah, I’m impressed. NOT.

So, I dialed the customer service phone number. Over and over again. I got a busy signal. Over and over again. The website was no help. At all. Was I becoming frustrated/angry/unhappy? Sure. Then I got through to the annoying computer voice and I settled in for the wait. My hopes were lifted when I was connected to a customer service rep right away. It was temporary, this feeling of elation, because I found out that yes, indeed, our flights were all cancelled.

The solution? Midwest will refund our money (to the credit card) in about 72 hours (give or take a few, I’m sure) and mail us a receipt of this transaction. There will be no email regarding this, no confirmation number, no immediate assurance for me, other than their verbal agreement to refund my money. It makes me wonder, can they conveniently “forget” my call to cancel the flights? Can they keep my money, saying I never contacted them? I hope not, because I haven’t the slightest idea how to handle a situation like that, and we cannot afford to pay for tickets twice.

Unlike my sister, I received an apology. Although it was half-hearted, and really, it was one of those trained monkey responses, in my opinion. This did nothing to soothe my seething temper, and (unfortunately) the service rep got to experience a taste of it.

I have a rhetorical question for you out there. If you (the customer) cancelled a flight because it wasn’t “economically sound” for you to fly somewhere, would the airline make you pay? We all know the answer to that one. Yes, I probably will get my money back, but will they pay me a $50 fee per person for having to rebook and pay more for our new flights? No, Midwest Airlines won’t do that. According to the service agent “it is not the same thing.” Bullshit.

Do we have new flights? Yes we do. Here’s hoping Delta Airlines has a better handle on customer service.

Attention Midwest Airlines: You have put boogers in my cereal, and it was incredibly rude of you to do so.

Enough said.

Mrs. V

13 Responses to “Midwest Airlines Review”

  1. RC July 20, 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    Nicely said, sister-o’-mine…

    Yes, I’m kind-of freaked out about the “credit being issued back to the card”-thing, too, but like you, I don’t know what else to do.

    They have made my @$$hole$ (and you know I try to avoid swearing on your family-friendly blogs) of the year list.

    I haven’t had such horrid customer service since being put on hold for more than two hours, several times, by Sprint. (Back in college. Not a fond memory, and one of the reasons I would never use them again…)

  2. Julie July 21, 2008 at 1:08 pm #

    What a nightmare! Did they give you any explanation as to why the flights were cancelled???

  3. kiri8 July 21, 2008 at 7:20 pm #

    Argh! How awful! I’d have gotten a migraine from the stress. I’m so sorry you had to go through that. I saw the article in the paper this morning; they are having financial troubles and are cancelling lots of their daily flights.

  4. writerchick July 21, 2008 at 8:44 pm #

    Hey Mrs. V,
    I feel your pain, I’ve been dumped on by airline companies before. As to the fees and charges, contact your credit card company immediately and tell them what happened and get a dispute on record, just in case they try something funny. Then after you get that all squared away – look up the CEO’s name of Midwest Airlines and drop off a bag of flaming dog poop on his front doorstep – you won’t get any financial break, but it will surely lift your mood.
    WC

  5. mrsvierkant July 21, 2008 at 10:08 pm #

    Annie: Oh, that would make me feel so much better. 😉

    kiri8: I’m sure my blood pressure was through the roof. I’m hoping the financial issues won’t affect my refund.

    Julie: They are “re-routing” because of “economic reasons.” Oil/Fuel prices, financial difficulties, etc… No solid reason just economic woes.

    RC: Go ahead and swear away. I did. 😉

  6. Michelle July 22, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    I feel your pain, It is so frustrating to deal with such nonsense….especially when you made plans so far in advance. I hope it doesn’t ruin your trip.

  7. mrsvierkant July 22, 2008 at 9:46 pm #

    Michelle: I’m hoping this is the last of the frustrations. We’ve been planning this trip for over a year, and I’m really looking forward to it!

  8. PiedType July 23, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    Oh, so sorry to hear this. It’s not like you waited till the last minute to make your plans, either. I haven’t had to for five years, and barring a death in the family (knock wood) I don’t plan to ever again. I am much too impatient to put up them. (For what it’s worth to anyone, my brother-in-law, who flies constantly, swears Southwest is the most accommodating these days.)

  9. PiedType July 23, 2008 at 3:51 pm #

    That’s supposed to be “I haven’t had to FLY for five years.” Sorry ’bout that. 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hanging up « Hill Smith Family Update - July 20, 2008

    […] As I told my sister, who is also dealing with this mess, I can deal with receiving a horrible product or canceled services, as long as customer service is wonderful, apologetic and assists me with rectifying the situation. When it comes to bad customer service, though, I tend to shout it from rooftops, which I am now doing. […]

  2. Not that I hold a grudge or anything « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - July 21, 2008

    […] Midwest Airlines Review […]

  3. RC's Blog : Hanging Up - July 22, 2008

    […] As I told my sister, who is also dealing with this mess, I can deal with receiving a horrible product or canceled services, as long as customer service is wonderful, apologetic and assists me with rectifying the situation. When it comes to bad customer service, though, I tend to shout it from rooftops, which I am now doing. […]

  4. 100 Random Thoughts and Facts « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - August 10, 2008

    […] a paintbrush since staining my deck. That is almost a month ago. I still plan to paint my foyer. 9. Midwest Airlines was kind enough to refund my money. The other day I received a credit card offer from them. Idiots. […]

Leave a Reply

