Five Freakin’ a.m.

29 Jul

In 24 short days I will have to return to waking up at this horrific hour Monday through Friday.  It is absolute torture for me.  Okay, it isn’t really torture, but it is as close to torture as I want to get.

I love summer break for many reasons, but one is that I can stay up late.  Late being defined as 11:30 p.m. or midnight, which really isn’t “late”, I guess.  Which leads me to another reason to love summer break:  I can sleep, a solid glorious sleep, until 6:30 a.m. or maybe even snoozing into the 7 o’clock hour.  Then I rise and take my excercise walk, eat my breakfast, sip my coffee, take my shower and then I might be ready to face the day around 9:30 or 10 a.m.  I am not a morning person.  I can achieve a lot between the hours of 10 a.m. and midnight, but before 10 a.m., I’m practically useless, just ask my children.

I really shouldn’t complain about 5 a.m., since I have the summer off.  However, I find myself cringing at the thought of it, yet again.

At five that alarm will ring, and I’ll need to move.  Quickly.  And that is a task I dread.  Moving quickly in the morning, and functioning on a level that is productive is something I have not yet mastered.  Every fall I promise myself that I’ll get it together, but I never quite get there.

5 a.m. seems so dark to me.  It feels foreboding.  In the winter I find it cold and unwelcoming.  Everything about 5 a.m. shouts “SLEEP”  to me.  I really do not understand how people can love this hour of the day.

So now I begin the slow and annoying task of resetting my internal “clock.”  I wish it was as easy as setting that awful alarm.

I do have a few things to look forward too.  I don’t have to set the alarm for a few more weeks, and I’ll also be able to sleep in again next summer.

Mrs. V

15 Responses to “Five Freakin’ a.m.”

  1. joanharvest July 30, 2008 at 8:00 am #

    I am so spoiled. I could never get up at 5:00AM or 6:00AM or 7 or 8 or 9:00AM. I roll out around 9:30AM. I usually stay up until about 1:30 AM. So I do get my 8 hours sleep. I am a night owl. I guess when you are used to getting up at 5AM, 7AM must seem like it’s late.

  2. jen July 30, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    Ugh. I hated getting up that early when I was teaching. I couldn’t do it now, just couldn’t do it. I’m convinced it would kill me dead. 😉

  3. Mr Geek July 30, 2008 at 10:50 am #

    Mornings Suck!

    I really am NOT a morning person … the trouble is that Mrs Geek and the children are 😦

    Which pretty much means I have to force myself to get up and make like I like having my eyes open at 6am. The biggest problem is that when night rolls around again, I am awake and I am not ready for bed. 10pm is when I actually start to get a little time to do anything approaching constructive.

    I would like to declare sleep bankruptcy at some point and just sleep for a week to catch back up, but I fear such a declaration may simply be laughed at and ignored. C’est la vie, One can dream (even if only daydream)

  4. Julie July 30, 2008 at 2:04 pm #

    5 am is TOO early… I wouldn’t want to do it at all!

    School starts early there. Around here classes don’t start until the day after Labor Day.

  5. RC July 30, 2008 at 2:47 pm #

    No comment. Seriously.

    I can send Little Dude to your house to help you reset your clock, if you would like…

  6. debra July 30, 2008 at 6:56 pm #

    I am a morning person and normally wake up by that time (or earlier) but I realize I am in the minority. At least you’ll get to go to work and see those adorable little faces! That should help a little 🙂

  7. mrsvierkant July 30, 2008 at 8:25 pm #

    Debra: My hubby is a morning person. Seeing the adorable faces is helpful, and it’s a good thing they don’t see me until almost 9 am. LOL

    RC: Little Dude could reset my clock, couldn’t he?

    Julie: School doesn’t start until after labor day, but I have set-up, orientation, classes, and first aid recertification before school even starts.

    Mr.Geek: Thanks for stopping by! “Sleep bankruptcy”, I like that!

    Jen: If it weren’t for coffee and Diet Pepsi, I’d never survive, LOL.

    Joan: I’m so jealous. You keep the hours I want to keep. Sleep in for me, will you?

  8. kiri8 July 31, 2008 at 12:49 pm #

    5 am!!! Why???? This past year I woke up at 5:45 so I could work out before school (mentoring added to my schedule so I could no longer work out in the afternoons). It was hell. This year I’m cutting back on my mentoring hours and will go back to afternoon exercise. And we’ll get to sleep in until at least 6:15.

    Summer is so wonderful. I love getting out of bed at 7:30.

  9. Michelle July 31, 2008 at 8:26 pm #

    One of the major benefits of getting married to a morning person and transferring to a school closer to my home……I haven’t set an alarm for school for almost 5 years (maybe a few exceptions when my husband has been out of town.) I’m not a morning person at all…..very shortly into our marriage he learned that bringing me coffee and not talking until the first cup and shower were out of the way kept us from being a praying mantis couple… you know where the female bites the males head off?

  10. mrsvierkant July 31, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    kiri: I have to get up at 5, so that I can take my synthroid (have to take it an hour before I eat), shower (so hubby can have it by 5:45), get my son up and moving at 6 and my daughter up at 6:15. Make sure they get dressed, eat, and look presentable and make sure I do the same. Hubby leaves at 6:20. I get my son on the bus at 7, and get daughter to school age childcare by 7:15, so I can be to work at 7:30 at the very latest. I start teaching at 8:45. Usually I can get a load of laundry going, maybe some dinner in the crock pot before I’m out the door. Oh, I’m tired just thinking about it. I only teach on MWF, so on T and Th, I get up that early to excercise and take care of household stuff and once I get my daughter to school at 9, then I do volunteering, errand running, etc… Are you sorry you asked? LOL!

    Michelle: LOL! It’s the same thing at our house. Hubby knows better than to ask me a question or tease me before I’ve been up at least an hour.

  11. kiri8 August 1, 2008 at 10:51 am #

    Wow. That’s impressive. If I had to get up at 5 I would cry. Also, I would go to bed at 9 pm every night.

    My husband still hasn’t quite figured out that I’m not a morning person. (Not a night person, either. Just a person who ideally gets 9 hours of sleep every night!) He wakes up full of ideas and occasionally still tries to share all his great ideas for things we should do with me when I’m grunting over my coffee.

  12. Dad August 1, 2008 at 2:03 pm #

    It,s not my fault. The non-morning person comes from your mom.
    Dad

  13. mrsvierkant August 4, 2008 at 11:01 pm #

    Kiri: I want to cry every time the alarm goes off, LOL!

    Hey Dad! Thanks for stopping by!

  14. writerchick August 5, 2008 at 7:19 pm #

    I completely understand your dread. Years ago when I worked in restaurants I often had early morning shifts which were hideous. Like you, I’m not ready to function until about 10 am and like to stay up. The only good part was that by the time I did wake up work was almost over. Good luck – sorry.

    Annie

  15. mrsvierkant August 5, 2008 at 9:08 pm #

    Annie: I start teaching at 8:45, and I’m always hopeful that the coffee will have kicked in by then, LOL.

Leave a Reply

