A book you can really sink your teeth into

30 Jul

No, it isn’t Pillars of the Earth, World Without End or even Dr. Zhivago.  Those books are all great reads, and I’ve read the first two this summer, and I’m currently reading the third one.

But I’m rambling.  Again.

I’m talking about a children’s book.  This particular children’s book is one that I start off every school year with. 

Here it is…

Drum roll please…

  Don’t Eat the Teacher written by Nick Ward.

This fabulous story is about Sammy the Shark’s very first day at school and his “unfortunate habit (as all young sharks do) of biting things” when he gets very excited.  You’ll follow Sammy through his school day as he learns many new lessons.  At the end of the day Sammy’s mom asks him what he has learned on his first day of school.  Guess which is the most important lesson of all? 

It is a sweet, simple, very funny story that grabs those little preschoolers’ attentions right away.  It’s predictable, and they can guess what might happen next, so it provides interaction with the students who are just beginning to know me as their teacher.  I like that it gives my preschoolers the confidence to speak up and contribute at storytime, right from the beginning of the school year. 

My copy is 10 years old.  It was my son’s book when he was little.  It is dog-eared, colored in, and torn in some spots.  It is a well-loved book, and I may have to put it into retirement and purchase another copy. 

So get yourself over to the library and “check it out.”  (I think that was a Reading Rainbow line.)  Watch those Scholastic Book Orders for it, or I think you can find it used here.

Enjoy!

Mrs. V

8 Responses to “A book you can really sink your teeth into”

  1. RC July 31, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    Little Dude could use another book for Christmas. Here is your Christmas hint for him…

  2. jen July 31, 2008 at 10:15 am #

    I’ll keep an eye out for it. However, we have more books than most school libraries! LOL!

  3. Julie July 31, 2008 at 2:55 pm #

    Sounds like a cute book!… I should look for it for Amanda, since she starts K5 this year. 🙂

  4. Michelle July 31, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    Just today I was thinking about books I use year after year. I haven’t seen this one….might call for a change of plans….I usually start with If You Take a Mouse to School….might have to switch to Sammy this year.
    🙂

  5. Michelle July 31, 2008 at 8:20 pm #

    BTW….Pillars of the Earth was one of my summer reads too. It had been built up so much (one of my friend’s told me it was the best book she has ever read), that I was actually a little disappointed. I thought it was good, but not THAT good….what did you think?

  6. mrsvierkant July 31, 2008 at 8:40 pm #

    RC: I love giving books! You know that though.

    Jen: My collection rivals the school library too, LOL.

    Julie: I bet Amanda will love it!

    Michelle: I like “If You Take a Mouse To School” too. It’s a great book. Pillars of the Earth was one of my book club reads (as was World Without End.) They were okay, I liked Pillars better. I like epic novels, and it was fun to read, but I don’t think I’ll read it again. I just found both books kind of predictable.

  7. writerchick August 5, 2008 at 7:16 pm #

    Oh that sounds adorable – I have a few young nephews and nieces who might like that. I think I’ll see if I can pick up a couple of copies. Too cute.
    Annie

  8. mrsvierkant August 5, 2008 at 9:08 pm #

    Annie: I do think it would make a great gift!

Leave a Reply

