Question and Answer

31 Jul

I found this essay at this Preschool Education Website.

What Are You Doing Teaching Preschool: added 3-4-02
Original Author Unknown

There are those days when the logical mind says, you must move on and do a better job of supporting yourself.
Those days when the logical mind say, why did you choose this career, it is not reasonable.
If the heart can still the mind, then the answers are apparent.
Perhaps logic did not play a great part in choosing our jobs as teachers.
If we are truly teaching life’s most important lessons to the little ones.
The lesson of love, to love oneself unconditionally and to share that love with others.
Perhaps we were guided and chosen to be in this place.
For teaching love in a crowded, confused and often angry world, is not something everyone can do.
Though our wallets may not be overflowing,
How many people are hugged and told they are loved by the people they work with each day?
How many people own original art works created expressly for them?
How many jobs allow you to wipe away tears and make the world a better place for others?
How many people are allowed to see a tired, weary world through fresh new eyes, where all things are possible,
To hear laughter and joy for no big reason, just for being?
When the logical mind says, what are you doing teaching young children?
Listen to your heart one more time.

If anyone knows who wrote this wonderful essay, please let me know. It’s amazing and honest and I really wish I knew who the author was.

Mrs. V

8 Responses to “Question and Answer”

  1. RC July 31, 2008 at 9:11 pm #

    very nice.

  2. jen July 31, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    One of the best teachers, and best people, I know is my sons’ preschool teacher. Becky is truly a gift and a blessing and I still can’t believe my dumb luck in having her in their lives.

  3. evylsmoke August 1, 2008 at 6:25 am #

    My wife teaches headstart, I always thought it was mental issues that made her do this no the heart. I guess you learn something everyday.

  4. plozano76 August 1, 2008 at 1:21 pm #

    Wooo hooo, let’s hear it for us pre-school teachers!! A few months back I was told “you’re beautiful” by a 4 yr-old. That beats a big fat bonus any day!!

  5. Julie August 1, 2008 at 2:47 pm #

    That is nice… I know I only homeschool the kids, but I feel like it could suit me too…

  6. debra August 1, 2008 at 6:15 pm #

    Beautiful! I loved “How many people own original art works created expressly for them?” How true.

  7. mrsvierkant August 4, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    debra: I love the “original art work” that I receive.

    Julie: I believe it suits you too!

    Plozano76: Isn’t it wonderful!

    evyl: Could be mental issues too, LOL. 😉 I can say it is mostly from the heart though.

    Jen: I’m so glad you have a wonderful preschool teacher for your children.

    RC: Some people really know how to write. I just wish I knew who did it.

  8. Tracy December 11, 2009 at 9:34 pm #

    You are so blessed. It’s a job that’s priceless.

Leave a Reply

