Sing, Sing a Song…

13 Aug

Since school will be starting soon, my teacher wheels have been turning rapidly in my brain, and I’ve been working steadily on school related projects.  My latest has been the songs that are used in our classroom.

Music and singing play a huge role in my preschool classroom.  I have songs for every season, theme, animal or holiday that has ever been a lesson that I have taught.  I’ve been acquiring these songs for 6 years from many sources.  I use books, websites, Cd’s, fellow teachers, and I have even made up my own songs.  Over the past 2 years I’ve been compiling and saving these lyrics on my computer and printing and using them as necessary.  According to the Excel file that I’m using to create an index of these songs, I have over 180 songs in my little library.  I don’t use them all, and I definitely have my favorites, but even I was amazed at how many songs we sing during the school year.  Now I have a neatly organized folder with all those songs, and helpful indexes (one for theme, one for season, and one alphabetical) to help me find the song I want or need for a lesson.  The best part is I’m feeling a little more organized for the start of the year.   (Yaaaay me!!)

I strongly believe music and movement play a vital role in how children learn.  Music and movement provide opportunities for muscle development and coordination, social interaction and development, literacy and mathematic skills, and imagination.  I will continue to use it as a major part of my curriculum.

When I have a little more time and energy (running low on both this evening), I will provide a list of the CDs I use in my classroom, along with some helpful websites that are useful to both teachers and parents.  If you have any helpful hints or websites, please post them in the comments section.

However, for a little fun, I’ll leave you with one of my favorite songs from Sesame Street.  I hope it gives you the warm fuzzies too. 

 As always, if my techno-skills aren’t so technically skilled: Here is the link. 

Mrs. V

9 Responses to “Sing, Sing a Song…”

  1. Julie August 14, 2008 at 8:57 am #

    Not only is singing all that… It’s fun too! 😀 … What little kid doesn’t love to sing?

  2. RC August 14, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    Thanks… I read your post in my reader last nigh on my PDA (hard to comment off of that), and I couldn’t get that song out of my head while trying to fall asleep.

  3. Michelle August 14, 2008 at 8:12 pm #

    Boy does that song bring back memories! My best friend and I used to play it on the piano and sing it at the top of our lungs until my parents yelled at us to pipe down! I would play and she would dance. Fond memories…..

  4. debra August 15, 2008 at 3:48 am #

    Oh man, I used to LOVE that song!

    I agree that music is crucial to development and it really does help educate kids. Remember Schoolhouse Rock? I can STILL recite the Preamble to the Constitution and tell you how a Bill becomes a Law. Of course, I would have to sing both which neither of us would enjoy — but take my word for it. 🙂

  5. mrsvierkant August 15, 2008 at 1:08 pm #

    Julie: Kids do love to sing, don’t they.

    RC: I’d apologize, but then I’d be lyin’. 😉

    Michelle: Glad to give you some fun memories.

    Debra: Schoolhouse Rock was so cool! My kids actually have the DVD set and will watch it on really long car trips. “Conjunction Junction, what’s your function?”

  6. teach5 August 15, 2008 at 3:41 pm #

    I can’t sing or play worth beans, but after going to the National Kindergarten Conference two out of the last three years, I started collecting CD’s I load them all onto my laptop and play them off of it. Last time I checked I was up to almost 2000 songs on my kids music files. Favorites artists (in no particular order are Charlotte Diamond, Jack Hartmann, The Learning Station, Mr. Al, and Red Grammer.

    Jack Hartmann has some great literacy CD’s, and Red Grammer’s Teaching Peace is the best!!

  7. mrsvierkant August 15, 2008 at 6:42 pm #

    teach5: Thanks for stopping by! Those are great suggestions. I really like Red Grammer’s Teaching Peace also.

  8. michaelm August 17, 2008 at 4:11 pm #

    Get them singing some Steely Dan.
    It will undoubtedly up their vocab and teach them that the music of today is so elementary.
    Period.
    Amen.
    A classroom of kids singing Kid Charlemagne gets my engine running. 😉
    ~m

  9. mrsvierkant August 18, 2008 at 10:15 pm #

    ~m: I’m a fan of Steely Dan (oh look, I’m a poet), but I don’t think I could convince the paying parents of the benefits of listening to it in the classroom. LOL. I could get the kids to dance like back-up singers though. 😉

Leave a Reply

