Out of Shape

15 Aug

I’ve been sticking to my excercise walking all summer long.  I do this 5-6 days a week.  I thought I was in pretty good shape, and would be in shape for chasing those little preschoolers all day come September.

Then I watched two of my younger nieces for the day yesterday.  Wow.  I’d forgotten how much work those little people can be, and how much energy it takes.  Now I know a classroom situation is different than “babysitting”, but I need to keep track of twenty children who are 4 and 5 years old.  My nieces are 7 and 3, and I had my 10 and 12 year old to help me. 

I wonder if there is a fitness program out there to help me get in shape for the start of the school year.  I’d forgotten how tired I feel after a busy day like that.  I guess I’ve just been too lazy this summer, or maybe my children are just too easy on me these days.  Who knows?

Maybe I should’ve taken up marathon running this summer.  I think that’s the only training program that prepares you for teaching. 

Mrs. V

9 Responses to “Out of Shape”

  1. RC August 15, 2008 at 1:49 pm #

    I gather your hubby’s brother is in town? Say “hi” for me!

  2. Lisa August 15, 2008 at 5:15 pm #

    Hey there, Mrs. V! I stumbled over from another blog, and I shouldn’t admit this, but I just went back and read every single post. Loved it!! I’m really looking forward to reading more. Enjoy the final weeks of summer vacation. I know I’m going to!

  3. mrsvierkant August 15, 2008 at 6:36 pm #

    RC: You’re right, they were here, but for Thursday only.

    Lisa: Welcome! Thanks for reading all my backposts, and I’m glad you enjoyed them.

  4. writerchick August 16, 2008 at 2:51 pm #

    Mrs. V.,
    I think the army offers an obstacle course training program you might be interested in. Kids have boundless energy which is impossible to follow if you’re over the age of 6. I wish you luck and don’t forget the red bull. 😉
    Annie

  5. michaelm August 17, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    LSD, MrsV (long slow distance)
    I used to run years ago but my lower back objected.
    It did, however, give me a piece of mind that money can’t buy.
    I’m still in awe knowing what it is that you do.
    You undoubtedly do it well, I’m sure.
    Here’s to hoping you have a great year with some totally awesome kids.
    ~m

  6. debra August 18, 2008 at 5:08 am #

    Maybe those exercises we had to do in volleyball (and I won’t remember what they’re called now). But they were basically sprints between the two sidelines on the basketball court, where you ran as fast as you could, bent down to touch the line and then sprinted back to the other line. Over and over and over and over.

    I imagine your job as lots of running and bending. 🙂

  7. bodyexercises August 18, 2008 at 8:02 am #

    Debra was referring to suicide runs, often used in basketball and full court sports like tennis, etc. You could always try swimming as that is a low impact sport and has added resistance, helping you do more work in a less amount of time.

  8. Julie August 18, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    I think it takes a LOT to keep up with kids who aren’t your own. *lol* … I don’t know why it makes a difference, but it does.

  9. mrsvierkant August 18, 2008 at 10:07 pm #

    Julie: You are right about that!

    bodyexcercises: Sounds like too much work, LOL.

    debra: Yes, definitely lots of running and bending, LOL.

    ~m: Running does not agree with my knees or ankles. I enjoy it, but walking, well, it’s just so much better for my achy ol’ joints.

    Annie: LOL… Army obstacle course, that would do it.

Leave a Reply

