Thinking about the new school year.

24 Aug

I’ll meet my 40 new students on Wednesday.  Once I do, it will really feel like the new school year, but until then I know I’ll feel a little scattered, and it won’t really feel like a new school year to me.  I’m excited, but I’m also a bit nervous.  I always am at the start of September.  I just don’t know what to expect from my new students or how the next 9 months will go.  May seems so very far away.  I’ve been doing this long enough to know the changes we’ll see in these children, and that is what excites me.  I’ve also been doing this long enough to know some groups of children are beyond challenging, and test every bit of patience I have.  That is what makes me nervous.  I’ve been there, done that, bought the t-shirt.  So as I head off into this busy week of CPR class, classroom set-up and orientation with parents and students, my stomach does flip-flops, and  my heart silently prays that this school year will go well, and I’ll do the best that I can as a teacher.

Before a I go, here is a love/hate list that I’ve been contemplating over the past couple of weeks.

Love:  Meeting 40 new faces.

Hate:  The “unknown” factor of the new school year.

Love:  Having 40 reasons to sing silly kid’s songs.

Hate:  Writing calendars and newsletters. 

Love:  Being back in the routine of the school year.

Hate:  5 freakin’ a.m.

Love:  Watching 40 children experience new things.

Hate:  Setting up both classrooms on Monday, and putting everything away on Fridays.

Love:  Seeing parents interact with their children.

Hate:  Parents who are overbearing.  There is a fine line between caring and making a teacher nuts.

Love:  That preschoolers usually say what is on their mind.  No matter what it is.

Hate:  The paperwork involved with teaching.

Love:  My co-workers.  I’ve missed them over the summer.

Hate:  My salary.

Love:  That I do make a difference in so many lives each year.

Hate:  That my housework gets severely neglected September-May.

Love:  That my children are now old enough to help with that housework.

Hate:  That I’m disorganized.

Love:  That my husband is organized.

Hate:  That the summer weather will soon be gone.

Love:  The season changes, even if it means putting up with winter.

Hate:  Waiting for school to actually start.

Love:  Teaching.

Mrs. V

10 Responses to “Thinking about the new school year.”

  1. RC August 24, 2008 at 5:14 pm #

    I think we all have these lists for our homes, careers and the rest of the balancing act we refer to as life.

    Good luck!

  2. debra August 24, 2008 at 7:28 pm #

    Wishing you all the best for the new school year! (Forty kids?! Wow!)

  3. mrsmacheide August 24, 2008 at 8:13 pm #

    That’s a lot of kids. I hope your school year goes well. I know you will have a great time with those precious little darlings.

  4. Julie August 24, 2008 at 8:15 pm #

    Does it take a lot of time to be able to keep the names/faces of 40 students straight? I wonder if I would be able to. *lol*

  5. MissEducated August 25, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    I’m agreeing with pretty much everything on this list. The same list has been running in my head for a few days now… and I’m very much tempted to steal this idea and blog my own list!

    Best of luck in the new school year!

  6. Tracy Rosen August 25, 2008 at 6:03 pm #

    Love your list
    Hate that I don’t have kids to help out with the housework

    🙂

  7. kiri8 August 27, 2008 at 8:57 pm #

    This is a great list. I can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  8. mrsvierkant August 27, 2008 at 9:08 pm #

    Kiri: Thanks!

    Tracy: I could loan you mine, LOL.

    MissEducated: I’ll have to check out your list!

    Julie: It’s easier than you think. I learn them pretty quickly (about 2 weeks.)

    MrsMacheide: It is a lot, but thankfully divided up into 2 classes, LOL.

    Debra: Thanks! 20 kids/2 classes. Easier to take, LOL.

    RC: Thanks!

  9. michaelm August 29, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    the most important thing?
    Love: teaching
    I have a feeling that you are one of those teachers that children talk about 20 years on.
    Keep the faith, okay?
    What you do is simply amazing.
    As I said in my previous comment, good luck.
    FYI- my wife and I have never been overbearing parents.
    We let our girls do their thing and so far they have been dearly loved by almost every teacher. Yeah, we’re lucky.
    Or maybe we just cared enough to raise three amazing daughters.
    Rock on, Mrs.V
    If the trials and tribulations of the school year get stuck in your craw, please shoot me an email.
    I’ll gladly calm you down.
    ~m

  10. mrsvierkant August 30, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    ~m: Thanks! I promise I will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

