10 thoughts I had this week

6 Sep

1.  The first week of school is chaos, and I hope the rest of the school year isn’t.

2.  There are really only 24 hours in the day.  I need to sleep for at least 7, and that leaves me with 17 hours to fit everything else into.  You’d think that would be enough time, but it isn’t.  Trust me.

3.  I am finding that at the start of my 7th year of preschool teaching, I’m more confident than ever before.  I’m not stressing out as much this year.  Yay me! 

4.  Learning 40 names and 40 personalities really is fun and exhausting, but mostly it is fun.  I don’t think I’ve ever had cuter classes.  I’m in love already.  **sigh**

5.  I don’t have any free time right now.  When I do, I feel guilty doing something just for me.  I need to get over that.

6.  What am I going to do if my dramatic daughter gets a part in the play at a local theatre?  How will I handle that schedule ruling our already busy lives at the end of October?  How will I handle her disappointment if she doesn’t get a part?

7.  Will we kill my son’s monarch butterfly larvae?  I hope not.  I have 25 milkweed leaves in the frig and 20 in the freezer.  I can’t make soup with that.

8.  I really, really, really should be working on my lesson plans right now.  Truthfully I’d rather be blogging.

9.  I miss all my blogging friends.  I miss reading your blogs.  I promise I’ll visit.  Soon.

10.  I hate 5 a.m.  But maybe I’m hyper-focusing on that.  Just a little.

Mrs. V

10 Responses to “10 thoughts I had this week”

  1. joanharvest September 6, 2008 at 11:14 am #

    Your thoughts are a lot more stressful than mine. But I was glad to read #3. That’s a good thing. The kids are so cute at that age. I don’t blame you for #8. And #9, we miss you too.

  2. MissEducated September 6, 2008 at 11:37 am #

    I hear ya! I am feeling exactly the same and I think it is a start of the school year thing and hopefully things will calm down. I’m hope so for my (and probably yours too) sanity’s sake! MissE xx

  3. debra September 6, 2008 at 11:41 am #

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your new ‘kids’! I hope the stress decreases and the joy increases each week of the school year!

  4. RC September 6, 2008 at 11:51 am #

    Ooo… Which play is the Queen trying out for?

  5. mrsvierkant September 6, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    RC: It is the Grimm’s version of Cinderella. She’s hoping for any female role.

    Debra: Thanks much! I hope the joy increases also.

    MissEducated: I hope things calm down for you too. It is amazing how fast our lives change when school starts, isn’t it?

    Joan: Thanks for missing me!

  6. Little old me September 6, 2008 at 11:02 pm #

    I am glad I don’t work in a school anymore

  7. writerchick September 7, 2008 at 11:28 am #

    Hey Mrs. V,
    I can really relate to a lot of these. It sounds like you have a really nice life, albeit, busy. But that is the way of the world these days, isn’t it? Too many things to do and not enough time to do them? Still, we try to catch up.

    Annie

  8. Julie September 7, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    My, you sound really busy… But it sounds like a happy busy, and that’s always a good thing. 😀

  9. kiri8 September 7, 2008 at 2:42 pm #

    Hey, you complain all you want about 5 am. I would, too! And I will keep telling you how amazing and wonderful and tough you are for getting up at 5 am. Strong, resilient, awesome. And did I mention tough?

  10. mrsvierkant September 8, 2008 at 6:27 pm #

    kiri: Aww, shucks. **blush** You’re so sweet. 😀

    Julie: It is a happy kind of busy.

    Annie: That’s the truth. I play a lot of catch-up September-May.

    Little Old Me: I still like teaching, and I’d miss it. So I guess that means I’m not ready to leave it yet, LOL.

Leave a Reply

