Hey Everyone! It’s Potty Time!

8 Sep

My morning class doesn’t have any potty issues, at least none that have been brought to my attention.  Thank goodness for small favors.

Because my afternoon class is another story.  (Keep in mind they are in my classroom for 2.75 hours.)

I have two little boys who used the bathroom 3 times each today.  Yes, 3 times.  In less than three hours.  Each time I had to ask them to use the bathroom, since they were doing “the dance,” and they did indeed have to go. 

One little girl used the bathroom twice, and ran there in an obvious rush and or panic.

I have one student who has potty-fear issues, we’ll leave it at that, and usually refuses to use the bathroom at school.  Poor little thing.

I have a little boy who needs to be taken to the bathroom and reminded to go, which we did and he went, but then he still wet his pants at the end of the day.  He is just too busy for it, I guess.

I have another little boy who I just noticed needs to be reminded to use the bathroom also.  Yet another one who is too busy to remember to go too.

The ones that actually do remember that they have to go potty, only remember to do so just as we’re starting to clean up, or when we’re sitting down for group time. 

This of course makes me nuttier than I already am. 

UGH! 

I really hope this isn’t an on-“going” problem.  **snicker**

Why do I have these sneaking suspicion that we’ll be “going” through a lot of our extra sets of clothing this year for this “gotta go” class?  Why do I think these children drink a gallon of water at lunch, before they get to school? 

It’s a good thing they’re so cute.  😀

Gotta Go…

Mrs. V

11 Responses to “Hey Everyone! It’s Potty Time!”

  1. jen September 8, 2008 at 8:23 pm #

    Oh, don’t worry…I have a second grader who still does the dance, hates to be reminded, NEEDS to be reminded, IS reminded…and still soaks himself. On lucky days we get both. Sigh… He lives so much in his head, has sensory issues and doesn’t recognize the sensation, and momma just remembered the bottle of wine in the fridge…LOL

  2. joanharvest September 9, 2008 at 8:14 am #

    My kids went to a co-op pre-school which meant the mommies had to donate time to help the teachers. It was the mommies job to take the kids to the bathroom so I can actually understand what you are going through. My son liked to pee in the kitty litter at home and they didn’t have kitty litter at pre-school. He’d hold it in until he got home. It took me a while to get him to stop peeing in the kitty litter.

  3. RC September 9, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    You are really scaring me about the potty-training days ahead…

  4. Julie September 9, 2008 at 1:52 pm #

    While I would love, love, love another baby… That’s one thing I WON’T miss…. It’s so much easier when they are either still in diapers full time, or fully potty trained… That in-between stage sucks! *lol*

  5. debra September 10, 2008 at 4:41 am #

    See, I had never even considered the whole bathroom routine when thinking about your job. (Clueless Single Non-Mother…Party of 1)

    I am enjoying this glimpse into your world and am forever and humbly grateful for all the work the educators and nurturers of the world do for us!

  6. writerchick September 10, 2008 at 10:20 am #

    Oh gosh, I remember going through that with my stepsons. I used to have to bring three changes for the little one – he was just too busy to actually go – dirt piles and trucks being far more important, you know? And the dance – it’s so funny and they don’t seem to realize their body is telling them something. 🙂
    Annie

  7. kiri8 September 10, 2008 at 1:12 pm #

    Yikes. It’s potty time all the time in your room! I keep forgetting to ask my kids if they need to go, and most of them don’t all morning long, which means I am just asking for trouble. One of these days we’re going to have 5 pee accidents in one morning if I don’t shape up and send those kiddies to the bathroom more often.

  8. mrsvierkant September 10, 2008 at 6:53 pm #

    kiri: Oh my! Potty breaks would be a good thing. I feel like I’m waiting for children all the time!

    Annie: The dance is pretty funny. The more they have to go, the faster they move, LOL.

    Debra: It is a big part of my job, LOL. I always forget that the beginning of the year is like that. Things calm down later in the year.

    Julie: Potty training was not my favorite either. I potty trained my two, plus two boys that I used to nanny for. My daughter was by far the easiest of the four!

    Rachel: I guess that would be the next big milestone, wouldn’t it. It still a ways off though, so don’t worry. C was 3 years, and B was around 2.5, I think.

    Jen, I understand. I really do. I’ll share the wine, LOL.

  9. Nemma September 13, 2008 at 7:39 pm #

    Hope you dont mind me intruding, found your blog through Mr Geeks.
    My little boy started nursery this week and its one of the things I worry about tbh. He’s one of the day dreamers who gets too involved in playing to realise he needs the loo occasionally. he’s only been out of nappys during the day for a few months (He’s very slightly behind in his development and although he’s twigged it now we seems to have taken a while to get him used to it)
    I keep trying to remind him before we go to school and tell him that if he needs the toilet then he has to tell a grown up, but we’re yet to discover if he will or not!

  10. Michelle September 14, 2008 at 6:31 pm #

    Do you have that video? I do…..

    Can I just say that my husband barely tolerates the pre-k songs that get stuck in my brain and won’t leave me alone. When I added this one to the pack it almost sent him over the edge with the lyrics to the tune of Yankee Doodle Dandy……”she’s a super duper pooper, she can potty with the best….”

    In defense of the video though, I have to say, it helped me get two kiddos with autism potty trained before kindergarten!

  11. mrsvierkant September 16, 2008 at 5:37 pm #

    Michelle: I used the video for my son, we checked it out from the library. I loved it and thought it was really cute, but he did not potty train because of it. He loved to dance to it, LOL. Thomas the Train cars (ah, yes, bribery) got my son potty trained. 😀

    Nemma: Welcome and thanks for visiting. Don’t worry too much. As a preschool teacher, we’re used to those accidents happening. I just need to remind myself at the beginning of each year that I need to watch out for those who might need a few reminders. I certainly appreciate when a parent lets me know that their little one may need a reminder or two. I hope your son has a successful schoolyear!

Leave a Reply

