What to do, what to do?

21 Sep

**sigh**

I’m thinking about Bumble.  If someone isn’t working with this child pretty consistently Bumble is a handful.  The baby talk and immature conversation skills are issues too.  This is also the first time Bumble has been in a group experience with children who are the same age.

On a very recent school day, Bumble decided to hide, and then run away from my assistant teacher.  This student repeated this behavior again at the end of the day when we were out in our play yard getting ready for dismissal.

On the next school day, Bumble refused to come to group time and chose to stand on the furniture yelling and banging on a shelf while I was trying to conduct group time.  (My assistant was in our other classroom setting up snack.)  You can’t approach Bumble because Bumble takes off running, and thinks it is a game.  The best I could do was try and ignore the behavior, and I’ll be honest it is pretty difficult to ignore that kind of noise.  The other children are also watching to see what you are going to do, and how you will react.  After the other children were lining up for snack this little one finally came over.  I continued to ignore Bumble, and addressed all the other children, praising them for doing what they were doing.  It wasn’t until Bumble sat on the rug and was quiet that I addressed my active student.

At the end of the day Bumble took off running, again, and hid in the play yard from mom, who was there to do pick Bumble up.  I know Bumble is looking for attention, and I try not to give too much to this student, but sometimes it is a safety issue.

I’m hoping we won’t have a repeat performance on Monday, but I have this sneaking suspicion that it will.  My assistant teacher and I will have time to talk out a plan, but I’m at a loss for ideas.  I need to keep control of the classroom and I can’t spend every minute keeping Bumble in check.

We shall see what happens. 

Don’t worry, I’ll remember that flyswatters are not an option, no matter how annoying the buzzing coming from Bumble is.

Mrs. V

11 Responses to “What to do, what to do?”

  1. RC September 21, 2008 at 9:01 pm #

    This has been the upside of Little Dude having to be in “school” at such a young age. He is already understanding the group concept and how he is expected to behave.

    Not that he doesn’t have bad days, but for the most part, I hear a lot of praise in his enthusiasm and eagerness to please and learn.

    (Although it does make me wonder if I should join the “unschooling” movement as I don’t want him to be a worker drone, either…)

  2. teach5 September 21, 2008 at 9:30 pm #

    Yeah, there is a really immature, and down right naughty little boy in one of the other kinder classes at our school. At lunch Friday, I caught him squeezing juice out of his juice box straw onto other kids. He thought it was hilarious, (nobody else did), until I got in his face and threw his juice box away.

  3. Julie September 22, 2008 at 12:03 am #

    This is why I can’t teach school… I just don’t have the patience for kids like that.

    One time I helped out with the Christmas program at church, and SWORE I would never do it again. *sigh*

    I’m really good with babies though. *lol*

  4. writerchick September 22, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    Have you considered talking to Bumble’s mom? I mean it isn’t really your job to change his behavior. He must act like that because it is acceptable at home or maybe he gets none there? Maybe finding something that really holds his interest will help? Sorry at a loss here for suggestions.
    Annie

  5. debra September 23, 2008 at 2:47 am #

    I have no suggestions but I was wondering if there were behavior prerequisites before allowing children into pre-school? Was there something his parents could have done differently to help get him ready for this type of environment? Or are kids just like adults and it takes all kinds?

  6. Little old me September 23, 2008 at 5:58 am #

    Does this child have ADD.?

    I used to work with children with Autism in a main stream setting, and we would often have children sent from the mainstream classes into our room who couldn’t sit still or join in, in the main stream classes. We found that by giving them a photo timetable, with a treat after every activity completed they soon calmed down. A lot of work I know, but if it works in the long term life will be a lot easer.

  7. Just a Mom September 23, 2008 at 11:25 am #

    God Bless Teachers!
    I would have used the flyswatter! 🙂

  8. mrsvierkant September 25, 2008 at 10:03 pm #

    Just a Mom: LOL!

    Little Old Me: I’m wondering about that myself. It is so hard to tell with a just turned 4 little boy. I do the “What is next” with him a lot. I need to find our pictures (we had an autistic child at our school a couple of years ago.)

    debra: Even though it is a private preschool, we don’t have prerequisites. Not even potty-training, and don’t get me started on that subject, LOL. He’s in a pretty good class, so that will help a lot.

    Annie: Definitely the route to take, and I know the mom from her older child being with us. It makes it a bit easier when you kind of know the parent.

    Teach5: I get cranky with blatant behaviors too. I usually give them the benefit of the doubt a time or two, then I get grumpy, LOL.

    Julie: I’ve stepped down from Sunday School for that reason. My 4 year olds are better behaved them some 3-5 graders, LOL.

    RC: Group experience is so important, whether it is a playgroup, a community ed class or daycare. Kids don’t understand it, and don’t learn without the exposure.

  9. kiri8 September 28, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    I’m really curious to find out what you learn from talking to Bumble’s parents. I do hope that they are supportive, and don’t turn out to be part of the problem….Meanwhile, take care of you, and hang in there. Bumble sounds exhausting.

  10. Talula December 11, 2008 at 12:14 am #

    I am sure that by now you have found some things that work to catch his attention; but it sounds like he is very interested in what the other children do but not sure how to join in their behaviors yet. during my tenure as an EC teacher, many times children like this could be corraled by giving them an important job near you (like holding the props or the second book for story time while sitting right next to you). 1) he is near enough to coax into more compatible behavior 2) he gets extra attention with everyone looking at him. there is also another way to allow his near proximity to the group activity – by allowing him to choose something else to do close by ( like blocks or science center) while he is actually listening to your activity. This helps children who are not quite ready for the close contact of the whole group. Or if absolutely a bad day; perhaps the assistant teacher could choose him to be her ‘special’ helper to prep for snack. If you choose this tactic, then be sure to allow other children this ‘treat’ or ‘job’ also. Speaking of that – a rotating job chart often helps these children earn their place in the group. Hope these help if you are still in need of suggestions for Bumble.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Snowglobe of Life « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - December 10, 2008

    […] little snippet to share:  My little Bumble (who has made some great strides over the past couple of months) had just come to school and was […]

Leave a Reply

