Hey Teacher! You’re back!

22 Oct

Yes, indeed I am back. 

Where was I? 

At the Happiest Place on Earth, of course!

It was just what the doctor ordered for bringing the fun and joy back into my life. 

The Happiest Place on Earth!

The Happiest Place on Earth!

And today I was back to reality. Back to work. And you know what? They missed me! Each and every one of my 40 little friends actually missed me. (Okay, really it was only 38, since 2 were out sick today, but I will assume those two missed me also.) I was the happy recipient of hugs, conversation, and the “I can’t believe you’re finally back” grins and stares. It is very rewarding for my teacher ego. A pat on the back, I guess you could say.  Everything went well while I was gone, which is terrific, but it feels good to be welcomed back with open arms.  Bless those little preschoolers.  I missed them too!

I spent yesterday unpacking, grocery shopping, and trying to bring general order back into my life.  My children went back to school, but they weren’t so keen on the idea.  My son is going through some heavy Disney withdrawl, which includes missing the presence of Grandma, Grandpa and his youngest cousin.  The “Disney Crash”, as I like to call it, is a harsh wake-up call back to reality. My daughter has done fairly well with it, but that is because she’s back into her social network, the place that most people might refer to as school.

We spent 6 days and 6 nights in Disney bliss.  And yes, we went to the parks each of those 6 days!  I rode roller coasters, fast rides, slow rides, and rides in between.  I rode myself into vertigo.  Seriously.  My ears are screwed up.  The airplane rides didn’t help with that either.  But I just love rides.  Lots and lots of rides. 

Space Mountain and a full moon.  Perfection.

Space Mountain and a full moon. Perfection.

The company was pleasant, and included my younger sister, her hubby and of course their son, my brother-in-law’s nephew, my youngest sister, and of course my folks who were the generous host and hostess of this family oriented vacation.  We came away still liking each other, and most importantly, still speaking to one another.   Thanks Mom and Dad.  We had a blast!

Hey, hey, the gang's all here!

Hey, hey, the gang is all here!

The food was awesome.  It is a good thing that you have to walk your feet off there.  Otherwise my pants would not have fit upon my return to reality.

The weather was warm, bordering on hot and humid too.  However, I did not care.  I was in Disney World!  It doesn’t get much better than that. 

Yes, I know,  some people despise Disney because they think it is too big, too crowded, or too expensive.  But they can’t burst my bubble.  I love Disney.  I’ve been there 6 times.  My folks have been there 29 times.  I don’t know how many times my younger sisters have been there.  My youngest sister actually worked there while she was in college.  So you’re looking at some hard-core Disney people.  Negativity will not be accepted here. 

Sure, I got hot, I got tired, I got cranky and so did the family.  But then someone smiles at you and tells you to “Have a magical evening, and thank you for your business.”  My crankiness just disappears.  Sometimes, I wish real life was like that. 

So while I could go on and on and on about my wonderful vacation, I’ll stop there.

I think it is good to be home. 

Mrs. V

9 Responses to “Hey Teacher! You’re back!”

  1. RC October 22, 2008 at 9:16 pm #

    Aak! I’m just finishing my family picture post, you brat! 😉

    And Little Dude is going through “Cwiss” withdrawal, as well. He keeps asking about both “Cwiss Beff,” and is now saying “home” after each mention. He also mentions his aunts and uncle, and wants “Gramma Grampa” to come home.

  2. mrsvierkant October 22, 2008 at 9:29 pm #

    Too bad, so sad. 😉

    I win, for a change…

  3. Julie October 23, 2008 at 12:00 am #

    No negitivty from me… Huge Disney fan myself, though I’ve only been to Disneyland once. *sigh* … It is a dream of mine to take the kide there someday.

    Glad you had such a great time!!!

  4. Little old me October 23, 2008 at 12:00 am #

    I wonder if its as much fun to work there

  5. barb October 23, 2008 at 6:05 am #

    Lucky you! I’ve been to Disney numerous times also. We lived in Orlando before it was built, and after Disney came, we had relatives visiting all the time to go. Now that I’m older (much), I really enjoy Epcot. Glad you had a good time!

  6. Just a Mom October 23, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    I am soo jealous! I love amusement parks but have never been to Disney.

  7. kiri8 October 24, 2008 at 12:40 pm #

    Welcome back! Your readers missed you, too.

  8. Daisy October 27, 2008 at 8:47 am #

    Glad you’re back, and had a good rest. Love the pic of the full moon over the building!

    Plus, I just might even attempt to try one of those 2 preschooler recipes.. hmmmm….

    Daisy

  9. mrsvierkant October 27, 2008 at 6:15 pm #

    Daisy, It was pretty cool to see the full moon over Space Mountain. I hope you enjoy the recipes. Let me know if you try them.

    kiri: Thanks!

    Just a Mom: Disney is the ultimate amusement park and then some. We love amusement parks too.

    Barb: My parents really enjoy Epcot too. The fireworks there were terrific, and I really enjoy the country exhibits.

    Little Old Me: My sister enjoyed working there.

    Julie: It was a lot of fun, and worth the year of saving up for it.

Leave a Reply

