Yummy fall recipes

26 Oct

 

I’m not one to blog about recipes or food, but I thought I’d share these two recipes. My students and I, with some wonderful help from a few parents, made these in the classroom this month. It is always a big project when you cook with 20 preschool children. However, it is rewarding, and I can usually guarantee that they’ll at least try it, if they have helped to make it.

Sweet Apple Muffins

1 egg (or equivalent of egg substitute)
½ cup milk (or soy milk)
¼ cup canola oil
1 ½ cups flour (half of this can be whole wheat flour)
½ cup sugar (this can be white or brown sugar or a mixture)
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup grated apple (with or without the peel, you decide)

Beat egg, stir in milk and oil.  Sift together flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and cinnamon, and stir into wet ingredients.  Stir just until moistened, the batter will be lumpy.  Gently stir in the apple.  Fill muffin tray cups 2/3 full.  (A hint:  Use muffin liners and spray them with cooking spray.)  Bake muffins at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until done.  Muffins will be pale in color. (12 muffins)

Of course, when I make this recipe with my students, I double the batch.  I also divide out the ingredients so each child gets to add something to the mixture.  We talk about the ingredients, and what happens to them as we mix the batter.  20 children taking turns stirring the batter works much better than any mixer.

Pumpkin Spice Cookies

1 box white cake mix (use your favorite mix for a 9×13 pan)
1 can solid pack pumpkin
4 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
2 Tablespoons milk (soy milk works fine too)

Mix all ingredients in a mixing bowl.  Stir until mixed well.  Scoop by heaping tablespoons onto parchment paper lined cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 (sometimes even 20) minutes.  It may take longer.  The bigger the cookie, the longer it takes to bake.  Makes 20-36 cookies, depending on the size.  These are very soft cookies.

I let my students put the cake mix in the bowl scoop by scoop.  We try to guess how many 1/4 cup scoops are in a box of cake mix.  I also talk about what is in the cake mix.  I let them smell the pumpkin and the pumpkin pie spice.  They helped to mix up this batter too.  These cookies are fabulous when warm.

Those were my cooking experiments for October.  In November we’ll be making our own pizzas, and also making butter from cream.  In December we’ll bake holiday (a.k.a. Christmas) cookies.  After that, I’m not sure what we’ll cook, but I’m sure I’ll find something fun and interesting to make.

Have a wonderful week!

Mrs. V

10 Responses to “Yummy fall recipes”

  1. RC October 26, 2008 at 9:26 pm #

    Thanks for including the “soy” note! Little Dude may need to help his momma make some of these on Friday.

  2. Lisa October 26, 2008 at 9:45 pm #

    It’s so great that you can cook/bake at school. Do you have a full kitchen available to you? The closest we ever get to cooking is making cinnamon apples in my crockpot. The babies love it though, so I try to do it often. Plus, as a bonus, my room smells glorious!

  3. joanharvest October 27, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    These recipes sound so good but probably not good for a weight watcher like me. I just can’t eat one cookie so I am better off without any. I’ll stick with my 2 point pumpkin Vitamuffins. Good for you to bake with 20 children. I had trouble baking with two.

  4. Julie October 27, 2008 at 11:33 am #

    Mmmm… I may have to try those pumpkin spice cookies!

  5. mrsmacheide October 27, 2008 at 1:11 pm #

    Both recipes sound delicious. I may have to try both of them. Thanks for posting them.

  6. debra October 27, 2008 at 4:28 pm #

    What fun! Cooking with kids is always a good time. They get so excited to help with ‘grown up’ things.

    These recipes sound great. I may need to try them myself!

  7. mrsvierkant October 27, 2008 at 6:10 pm #

    Debra: They do like helping out.

    mrsmacheide: I hope you enjoy them.

    Julie: The cookies are super easy!

    Joan: I think the pumpkin ones wouldn’t be too bad, since there isn’t any oil and eggs, but I have no idea how to figure out points for WW on either recipe.

    Lisa, Since the preschool where I work rents its space from a church, so we have a fairly nice kitchen. So with parent help, it makes it easy to do basic cooking projects. I do wish we had an automatic dishwasher, it would make our lives easier. I really am thankful we can do cooking projects.

    RC: I figured it might be helpful for you. I hope you can find a cake mix that is dairy free too.

  8. Just a Mom October 28, 2008 at 11:33 am #

    I might have to try these with my youngest daughter and her neighborhood friends. Once a month I make the girls find a recipe and we have a neighborhood cooking lesson. The kids love it!

  9. michaelm October 28, 2008 at 8:19 pm #

    have sent these to my wife.
    God, they look good . . .
    I can almost smell them.
    ~m

  10. mrsvierkant October 29, 2008 at 6:37 pm #

    I hope your wife makes them for you. Let me know how you like them!

Leave a Reply

