Snowglobe of Life

10 Dec

Or maybe I should have titled my post “Snowstorm of Life.” I guess either one would have worked.

Little bits and pieces of my everyday life swirl around me, giving me just enough time to notice them before more snippets sweep up around me. The trick is remembering those little snippets, bits and pieces so I can write about them. Somehow I haven’t mastered that yet this school year.

I dream of having a few calm moments to collect my thoughts, without the earthquakes and snowstorms to throw me off balance.  I should know better.  I’m a wife, a mom,  a preschool teacher, and a perpetually disorganized person.  Off balance is my everyday normal life.

Christmastime at preschool is a blast, but it also borders on insanity.  We’re making gifts for parents (hand print magnets…very cute) and decorating the bags to wrap those gifts in (tissue paper on white lunch sacks).  We’ve been decorating our classroom, having a sing-a-long, and learning how to dress to play outside in our wintry playground.  We’ll be rolling, cutting and decorating sugar cookies, having our own Santa’s workshop, and our annual holiday party, complete with Reindeer Games.   Glitter, sprinkles, jingle bells, and cinnamon are ever present in my classroom.  The children love it, and display their holiday spirit with vim and vigor. 

One little snippet to share:  My little Bumble (who has made some great strides over the past couple of months) had just come to school and was going to put on his shoes after putting his outside clothes in his cubby, but stopped suddenly and exclaimed “Hey, how’d that glitter get in my shoes?” Hmm… I don’t think it could have possibly been any of the two tons of glitter he put on a Christmas tree project that had been in his backpack with his shoes, do you? I just told him that I find glitter in my shoes too. Which is true. I find it in my shoes, my pockets, my hair, my eyebrows.   There must be a bit of glitter flying around in my snowglobe.

I love Christmas.

Mrs. V

9 Responses to “Snowglobe of Life”

  1. RC December 10, 2008 at 11:29 pm #

    I like the new header! (And keep the glitter up there at Christmas, okay? I have enough stuff to clean-up down here.)

  2. Talula December 10, 2008 at 11:44 pm #

    Absolutely loved this post that I found tag surfing! I spent 25 years as a teacher, then Director of Preschools and I haven’t been in a class for about 4 years now — but you took me instantly back there to the warm & loving holiday insanity! Treasure every moment and sloppy kiss & sticky hug!

  3. Mr Geek December 11, 2008 at 5:19 am #

    That is the irony of blogging … when you have the most things to say, you have the least time to say it.

    Sounds like a fun time in your class though, I am truly envious. I am also glad to hear that bumble is getting on better (I honestly was wondering the other day).

  4. Mr Geek December 11, 2008 at 5:20 am #

    Oh and…

    RC: Boooo! You can never have too much glitter! 🙂

  5. Julie December 11, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    I love Christmas too! … I wouldn’t mind finding glitter in my shoes. *lol*

    BTW, I left you a little something on my blog (a couple posts ago. 🙂 )

  6. Just a Mom December 11, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

    I need the glitter fairy to come to my house and put some glitter in my shoes!
    Or maybe I just need to go help out at our Pre-K class instead of the 4th grade class! 🙂

  7. Mr Geek December 11, 2008 at 1:44 pm #

    I don’t know how it could have escaped me… Yesterday Lisa dug out from her pocket and gave me what I assumed to be pocket lint. She explained to me that it was “Majik Dust” from Father Christmas’s sleigh. It was left in her class when he came to get their Christmas letters.

  8. mrsvierkant December 11, 2008 at 6:33 pm #

    Mr. Geek: Oooh I love the idea of “Majik Dust” 🙂

    Just a Mom: Yeah, I don’t know how much glitter they use in the 4th grade, LOL.

    Julie: I’ll be over soon.

    RC: Now aren’t we the party pooper. 😉

  9. Daisy December 12, 2008 at 9:34 am #

    Oh. I found things in my shoes too.. except I think my bumble put it there (actually, I know he did. He told me he put it there, ha ha).

    And I love your new header.. looks beautiful – missed you the last few weeks!

    Daisy

Leave a Reply

