Prepared?

3 Jan

I’m in the waning hours of my Christmas/Winter break. I’ve enjoyed being home, sleeping in and just being able to get caught up on things that have been neglected since September. I’ve enjoyed being a mom and a wife and putting my teacher “hat” on the shelf for awhile.

Am I prepared to be back in my classroom? My lessons have been planned, my calendar and newsletter written, and I do miss my students. So, I guess I’m prepared in that respect, and I’m even excited about the lessons and activities that are planned for January. I’m a little anxious about the behavior of some students as we head back to school, but I have even put a lot of thought into those possible situations.

I am not prepared for the onslaught of activities and homework that will surround my children, and therefore me, when Monday rolls around. I am not prepared for the 5 a.m. wake up call. I am not prepared for falling behind on housework, and other day to day duties. I’m not prepared to give up the freedom to do what I want, when I want to do it. That’s what I like best about breaks, the freedom.

In some ways I’d rather sit here at my computer and hide from my worldly responsibilities. However, I can’t do that. Not really. I know I’d miss my students, the laundry would really pile up, my children would go hungry, and, well, my hind end might get too big for the chair I’m sitting in.

So when my alarm rings on Monday morning, I’ll get up and I’ll give it my all. I’ll wear my teacher hat with pride and try not to neglect my other obligations as well.

I’m almost prepared for Monday. I just hope Monday is prepared for me!

Wishing you all the best in 2009,

Mrs. V

11 Responses to “Prepared?”

  1. RC January 3, 2009 at 4:08 pm #

    You aren’t going to visit my blog any more? You don’t value my comments? What the heck? 😉

    • mrsvierkant January 3, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

      If you act like that, I’m not. :P~~~~

      Oh, wait, did I just reply to a comment? Darn it all! Old habits die hard. 🙂

  2. jen January 3, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    I’m counting minutes until Monday. It’s been a long 3 weeks with the boys underfoot every minute. Thank GOD for the new Wii! LOL But I remember this feeling from when I was teaching. Ay yi yi do I ever remember it! 🙂

  3. neesienoodle January 3, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    I’m a fourth grade teacher, and I agree with every single point you made! You said it so well, there’s nothing else I can add. (It’s good to know someone understands!)

  4. Julie January 3, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    We start back to school on Monday… Seems like our Christmas vacation just flew by!!! It’s hard to believe that after 1 week more of school we’ll be half way through the school year already. Amazing!

  5. G-Ma January 4, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    Well, I’m not a teacher, but I did just spend 11 days home with my (grand)kids. Gee, I’m so ready to go back to work, even though I had a wonderful vacation. I’m an HR Manager–hope I don’t resolve any employee relations issues by making ’em stand in the corner. lol I’m with you though, that 5am wake up call is gonna be rough…

  6. Little old me January 5, 2009 at 12:31 am #

    All the best for 2009, I try to reply to comments made on my blog, but I am not sure anybody comes back to see if I have. It always amazes me they come at all. HA HA

  7. Mr Geek January 5, 2009 at 8:51 am #

    I like a challenge.

    I shall now be using my comments to goad you into an unwilling response 🙂

    I will start with the evil Mouse they call Mickey and all things Disney. With their shameless mercenary exploitation of our kids.

    I’ll stop now my heart is not really in it, I’ll have to think up a better line of attack!

  8. Daisy January 6, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Mrs V,

    Oh I was so happy that it was Monday yesterday.. it’s good for all things to come to an end and that includes the craziness of the holidays! Hee hee.

    Comments.. well, I wouldn’t worry too much about blogger etiquette.. I’m just happy that I have time to actually read and write again!

    Daisy

  9. kiri8 January 7, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    Replying to comments is a hard one. I always read and appreciate my comments, but I don’t always reply. I’ve been wondering if I should do it more! So who knows…

  10. Juliann January 7, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    It was good to read this post because I was feeling the same way about not being prepared to go back but we did it!

Leave a Reply

