I must look good for my age

5 Jan

Here’s a little story from my Monday that I thought you’d all enjoy.

Scene: a completely awesome science discovery table in a preschool classroom.

Props: magnifying glasses, books about animals, animal furs, antlers, horns, bones and teeth, also a plaque of preserved bird feet. Okay, I admit the bird’s feet are pretty creepy, but the children are fascinated by those icky things.

Characters: One very interested child and one teacher who is enthusiastic about sharing her vast knowledge about birds and mammals, and her excitement about the science discovery table.

Story: A sweet little girl, dressed mostly in pink is asking her teacher many questions about the animal furs, and looks at them with a magnifying glass. This same little girl becomes quite interested in the leg bone and jaw bone of a deer, but she doesn’t know that these belong to a deer. So, very excitedly she asks her teacher if she (the teacher) chased, hunted and killed the dinosaurs for the bones when she (the teacher) was young.

Conclusion: One very ancient feeling teacher assures the sweet, adorable little girl, that dinosaurs were not around when the teacher was young, so she (the teacher) did not have to kill any dinosaurs, and that the bones were actually from a deer. The little one’s response? A very disappointed “oh.”

And this teacher thought she looked so nice today. Preschoolers = reality check. Welcome back to school.

Mrs. V
Wife, Mom, Teacher and Skilled Dinosaur Slayer

11 Responses to “I must look good for my age”

  1. RC January 5, 2009 at 8:56 pm #

    And then I have times when I realize I’m glad I’m not teaching preschoolers. And this would be one of those times.

    **giggle**

    I knew you were the MUCH older sister. 😉

  2. debra January 5, 2009 at 10:00 pm #

    That little girl can kiss the teacher’s pet award good-bye! 🙂

  3. Little old me January 6, 2009 at 12:09 am #

    There is nothing like kids for bring you back to earth

  4. Mr Geek January 6, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    Ouch!

    And the child puts herself in danger of learning about extinction the hard way!

  5. Just a Mom January 6, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    We all know you hunted the dinosaurs! You can’t fool us like you do those poor little kids!
    🙂

  6. Julie January 7, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    *lol* Poor teacher! That little girl sounds adorable!

  7. kiri8 January 7, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

    Thanks for putting a smile on my face! That’s a great story, and your science table sounds wonderful.

  8. G-Ma January 8, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    Weren’t you tempted…even for a second…to say yes and then really elaborate on how you did it with a crossbow or something like that? I say have fun with ’em. Helps stimulate their imagination. This is a really cute story. I so admire people who have jobs that keep them in captivity all day long with the little people. Thanks for sharing!

  9. michaelm January 15, 2009 at 8:47 pm #

    I’ve seen pics, Mrs.V 😉
    You rock.
    Blonde, nice smile, beautiful face?
    Hot for teacher.
    (and no, I’m not an internet predator, I just call it as I see it, I’m married to a beautiful blonde!)
    God bless you with these kids . . .
    Priceless comments.
    ~m

    • mrsvierkant January 15, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

      **blush**

      You of all people could get me to reply to a comment. LOL. Thanks for the compliments.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playing Hide and Seek « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - May 2, 2009

    […] The Little Princesswho once asked me if I had killed the dinosaurs, can tell a good story. Her little face and hands become very animated and her stories are punctuated with many “and den” or “ummm, den”, with a few little lip smacks thrown in for effect. […]

Leave a Reply

