Freezer Burn

15 Jan

It is 7:15 in the morning, the sun is starting to creep up over the horizon, and the thermometer currently reads -23.1 degrees Fahrenheit, without the wind chill.  That’s frigid  freezing  damn cold.  As a British friend of mine is fond of saying, “it’s as cold as a witch’s t….”, oh wait, I can’t write that here.  I guess I’ll just say that we are definitely in the middle of a deep freeze. 

Schools and many businesses are closed because of the dangerous temperatures, which I think is a good thing for all involved.  I don’t usually work on Thursdays, so the school closing doesn’t affect me.  My children will be home.  All day.  Do you think they will help me clean the house?

The weather has me wishing for spring.  I don’t mind the snow, but when it is this cold, you can’t even go outside and play in it. 

So when I go to work tomorrow, and that will only occur if the mercury in the thermometer budges above the extemely dangerous zone to the moderately dangerous zone, we will be stuck indoors.  Again.  We’ll fill the tactile tub with snow and sing the “S-N-O-W” song.  My students do enjoy singing that song.  Maybe I need to make up one about how cold it is outside, I’m just afraid that I can’t do it without a swear word or two. 

I need to go put on a few more layers.

Mrs. V

9 Responses to “Freezer Burn”

  1. Julie January 15, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    Boy, that is COLD! … I don’t think I’ve ever seen it that cold around here. Getting into the teens is pretty rare. We have kind of mild weather.

    • mrsvierkant January 15, 2009 at 10:15 pm #

      Julie: Temps in the teens would feel summer like right now, LOL!

  2. RC January 15, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    Hey – We were just a few degrees warmer this morning, so I’m breaking out the swimsuits. It was only -15 when I finally reached work. 😉 Heat wave!

    • mrsvierkant January 15, 2009 at 10:15 pm #

      RC: I guess you are in the tropics. 😉

  3. Just a Mom January 15, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    I feel sorry for you guys! We had a low of 34 this morning and to me that is dangerously cold! 🙂
    Our high today is a nice 53 degrees. I think tonight we will be getting more of that cold air that you guys keep blowing on us poor people here in Texas!

  4. debra January 15, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    It warmed up to NEGATIVE SEVEN today. I can’t even remember what it feels like to be warm. Spring can’t come soon enough this year!

  5. michaelm January 15, 2009 at 8:35 pm #

    Oh, Mrs. V, it was 4 here this morning and I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt (NOT!)
    Good God, that’s reallllly cold.
    Did your car start?
    -23? Jesus Krispies, what state do you live in?
    Wishing you warm dreams and warmer waking hours.
    Stay warm and safe, okay?
    Keep us posted on the cold.
    I heat the house with coal.
    It’s currently 78 degrees in the living room and my wife is still wrapped up in an afghan.
    Go figger.
    ~m

    • mrsvierkant January 15, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

      ~m: My car started, since it was cozy in the garage. Our house is 68F when we’re home 64F at night or when we’re gone. Your poor wife would freeze here. It’s going to be just as cold tomorrow, brrr…

      When is spring?!?

Leave a Reply

