Broken Snap

18 Jan

Do you ever find yourself moaning and groaning about small things such as a broken snap?  Something that can easily be fixed, but it seems to cause an inconvenience in your life, and so you complain.

This happened to me, and then I had a little wake up call.

I was asked to pick up my daughter’s friend to take to a school activity that my daughter was also attending, because their family car wouldn’t start when our weather was so cold.  When I picked up this child I saw just how little this family has, and how much our family really has.   I realized that the $20 for this school activity must have been a challenge for this family to come up with,  and that their car with a dead battery is a major inconvenience.

I  also recognized that my broken snap wasn’t really an inconvenience, and I’m embarrassed that I even complained about it. 

Mrs. V

 

7 Responses to “Broken Snap”

  1. RC January 18, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    Amazing what a little perspective can do, isn’t it? (Anything we can do to help that family?)

  2. Little old me January 19, 2009 at 12:18 am #

    What’s a broken snap?

    • mrsvierkant January 19, 2009 at 7:03 am #

      You can see a snap here:

      I have them on my winter coat, and I had one that came apart. It is an easy fix. 🙂

      Hope that helps.

  3. Julie January 19, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    I know what you mean… Sometimes we take things for granted, huh?

  4. Mr Geek January 19, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    I like the quote in the image. And yes sometimes it is easy to get hung up on ones own trivialities.

  5. Little old me January 20, 2009 at 12:39 am #

    Thanks, we call then poppers here, or press studs

  6. michaelm January 29, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    This reminds me of my mother-in-law.
    She says this all the time.
    (and, “I’m so old I don’t even buy green bananas anymore!” and “What’s out of your mind is out of your head.” and . . . I’ll stop there)
    ~m

Leave a Reply

