Hipping, Hopping and Grooving

5 Feb

Okay, so I’ve joined a health club, because walking on a treadmill is seriously BORING, and I couldn’t stand it anymore.   I really wanted to take some exercise classes, to make excercise more fun less mundane.  I’ve done Pilate’s a couple of times, and I will continue to take those a couple days a week, because I think they’re beneficial.  However, today I decided to get brave and try something new.

In order to keep from getting dizzy walking in circles on the track, I decided to take the Hip, Hop and Groove class.  Forty five minutes of dancing, that’ll be fun, right?  I know I have hip, I see them both in the mirror every morning, and hey, I can hop pretty well too.  It was the groove I wasn’t so sure about. 

What did I find out after my 45 minutes of torture dancing?  I found that my hips hurt, my hop is seriously lacking, and I think I’ve lost my groove, if I ever had it at all. 

I think I should only dance if I’ve had a drink or two or six, when I can go with the illusion that I can actually dance.

I hope I can chase teach my preschoolers tomorrow.  Ouch…

Mrs. V

9 Responses to “Hipping, Hopping and Grooving”

  1. Daisy February 5, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    COOL! It’s only your first time – don’t be so hard on yourself. Just remember that it always takes at least a few classes to get into the ‘groove’!

    I always recommend that you try a class (any class) at least 2-3 times before you decide if you want to continue or not.

    I too have tried the ‘dance’ classes and tend to have two left feet it seems. Also, my hips don’t move that well, that way. However, I do find that they are a lot of fun once you’re used to the routine and then you start to really groove and sweat.

    Daisy

  2. ChiTown Girl February 5, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

    Ditto to what Daisy said. Plus, maybe try having a drink before class! 😉

  3. Ida February 5, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

    OH A. I feel for you! I’m ROFLMAO, but I still feel for you. See, now you know why I don’t do the classes, I’m too old.

  4. RC February 5, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    Sounds like my type of class. I was always the wanna-be dancer in the family, ya know…

    We’re doing a wellness program at work, which involves circuit training. My elbows cried last week. My knees may not forgive me this week.

    The price of health is pain, I guess…

  5. Little old me February 6, 2009 at 4:43 am #

    Stick with it, treat it has a laugh and have fun

  6. Just a Mom February 6, 2009 at 12:41 pm #

    Hmmm, So I can assume an update to this post won’t be “How Mrs. V Got Her Groove Back” ?! 🙂

  7. debra February 8, 2009 at 5:36 pm #

    Sounds like fun! I would have thought those kids would be enough cardio for the day though. 🙂

  8. Julie February 9, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    Do you know what we did to make the treadmill more interesting? … We bought one of those TVs that hang on the wall and put it right in front of the DVD. Now I can pop in a DVD and I forget that I am walking… Until my knee starts hurting from the arthritis. *sigh*

  9. Monika February 24, 2009 at 7:01 am #

    Oh my goodness!!! I’m crying, I’m laughing so hard!! You are too funny Angie!!!!

Leave a comment