The Valentine’s Day that wasn’t…

16 Feb

Friday morning:  I woke up with a nasty stomach virus, had to call in sick to work and I was stuck in bed for the next 24 hours.  My wonderful co-workers handled my classroom, but I still missed the Valentine’s Party with my students.  This made me very sad and I cried big crocodile tears.  I guess that made me pathetic and sick.

Saturday (a.k.a. Valentine’s Day):  I was feeling slightly better and finally holding down boring foods and liquids.  Plans for a Valentine’s dinner and a movie had to be cancelled on account of my jumpy stomach.  My hubby took wonderful care of me, and helped me to laugh at the whole thing.

I am thankful to have such terrific friends and family members who care for me and worry about me, and this means more to me than any Valentine’s parties, chocolates, dinners or movies. 

However, it still was the Valentine’s Day that wasn’t.

Bummer.

Mrs. V

8 Responses to “The Valentine’s Day that wasn’t…”

  1. jdk(dawny)Joanne K February 17, 2009 at 5:11 am #

    I hope you are better today!

  2. RC February 17, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    Hope you are feeling better, now, and hey – we did our taxes for Valentine’s Day! Isn’t that romantic?

  3. joanharvest February 17, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    I hope you are feeling better. At least you had a nice hubby to take care of you. I am still trying to work out whether friends are better than chocolate. OK, I guess they are ;-)!

  4. Daisy February 18, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    I hope you’re feeling better today… it seems quite a few people have gotten bitten with a stomach flu or something…

  5. kiri8 February 18, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    That stomach virus (or one of its relatives) was going through my class last week. I feel very lucky to have dodged it, and so sorry that you didn’t. Glad you’re feeling better now!

  6. Mr Geek February 19, 2009 at 6:13 am #

    I hope you are feeling better now, being ill when you have plans sucks double.

    Valentine’s Day was a non-event in our house too.

    This is the first Valentine’s Day where we have not gone out, and we both agreed to avoid buying presents due to “cash flow issues”, and by the time we got the kids off to bed, the evening was gone too.

    Being frugal sucks too 😦

  7. Julie February 19, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    Sorry you’ve been sick! … I had a birthday that wasn’t (on the 7th) because I was sick too, so I know how depressing that can be!!!

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  8. debra February 22, 2009 at 5:41 pm #

    Sorry I haven’t been by in a while. I was sick this week and have spent about every spare minute sleeping trying to get over it and regain my energy.

    I’m sorry you missed your Valentine’s plans but sounds like you made the best of it. Maybe you can reschedule that night out and enjoy it later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

