Pancake-monium or p.j.-monium or…

23 Feb

Maybe I should title this post Preschoolers in Pajamas eating Pancakes Producing Pandemonium.  Too long?  Too much alliteration? 

I like alliteration.

That is one of the reasons why last Friday was Pancakes and Pajama Day at Preschool.  Another reason is that it is just plain fun, and breaks up the winter doldrums.  Read on…

pancake.gif

It was pajama day, so yes, I wore pajamas.  Would you expect anything else from me?  Guess what kind they were.

 

Give up already?

I wore Frosty the Snowman PJs that I bought on clearance at WalMart for$4!  I love a bargain. 

I also love getting a reaction from the children.  “You’re wearing pajamas?!?”  “Hey, you’re wearing pajamas!”  Which I responded to with a shocked “I am?  Oh, my goodness, I forgot to get dressed!”   “You’re silly Mrs. V.”  “I like your pajamas.”

Yes, I’m a sucker for adoration from 4 and 5 year olds.  I do not deny this fact at all.  It is yet another reason I am a preschool teacher.

The children wore pajamas too.  I had a parent comment how our classroom looked like a giant pajama/sleep over party.  It did!  We were all warm and fuzzy, and the children even suggested a sleepover.

Bless their little hearts. 

I may be crazy, but I am not insane!

At group time I asked my star helper (I’ll call the child Princess), “Princess do you know what day it is?”  Princess replies “Pancake Day!!!”  Then I tell the class we’re going to figure out what number our day is so I start to count “15, 16, 17, 18, 19….”  Since I was expecting to hear “20”, I was a little startled when Princess shouted “Pancake Day!!!”  (Again…) Of course the whole class was excited because they too forgot all about the number 20.

We read Pancakes, Pancakes by Eric Carle.  “Let’s make a pancake!”  It’s a great story, especially in the big book size.

We played a pancake counting game, twice.  They wanted to play it some more, but time always seems to run out on our very busy day.

I told the story The Runaway Pancake , and I did this using plastic people and animals and a pancake stick puppet.  It doesn’t sound like much, but my little pajama-clad friends were enthralled by the story.   “And the Pancake Man rolled on…”   I must be a good story teller, because they really got caught up in the story.  Overheard at the end of the story “It’s not real!!!”  When I ended with a  “snip, snap, snup, he ate the pancake man up!”    Oops… I must’ve gotten a little excited myself.   

Wonderful parent volunteers came in and helped make and serve the pancakes.  So I did not have to do any cooking this year.  I love it when parents are able to come in and help with a special event like this.  What a difference it makes in our day.

Before we have snack, we do a little poem and the children clap their hands or roll their hands or do both.  The star helper, Princess again, gets to make that choice.  So I asked  “Princess, what would you like… rolls, claps or both?”  Princess replies “Pancakes!”  Pancake fever had set in completely by that time, judging from the reaction from the entire class. 

The children used real plates and silverware to eat their pancakes.  They “washed”  the dishes after they were finished eating their piles of pancakes.  This is also our little way of washing off those sticky hands.   Of course,  my amazing parent volunteers thankfully rewashed and sanitized the dishes.   

The whole room smelled of imitation maple syrup . 

I love it when a day goes as planned.

Then we put on our snowpants and coats and went out to play in the snow in our pajamas.

Mrs. V

9 Responses to “Pancake-monium or p.j.-monium or…”

  1. RC February 23, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    No fair. I get in trouble if I try to wear my pajamas to work.

  2. jen February 23, 2009 at 11:40 pm #

    Do you know the book “Hey Pancakes!”? My boys love that book. Just silly.

  3. Little old me February 24, 2009 at 1:44 am #

    I wish i could come to your school!

  4. Just a Mom February 24, 2009 at 9:37 am #

    Sounds like a great day to me! We have PJ day on the weekends every once in a great while! I love those days. 🙂

  5. Daisy February 24, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    Oh, I love PJ’s and Pancakes day.. sounds like so much fun!

    Daisy

  6. ChiTown Girl February 24, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    Aw, sounds like Pancake Day was a blast!! Did you read “If You Give a Pig a Pancake?”

    We usually do Pajama Day at the end of the year. The last full week of kindergarten we have Spirit Week, and one of the days is always Pajama Day. It’s always hilarious to see the kids’ reactions to my pajamas! 🙂

  7. Julie February 24, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    A pancake and pajama day… Now that just sounds heavenly!

    Can I be a student in your classroom?

  8. debra February 24, 2009 at 7:40 pm #

    Ahh, sounds like a great time! I wish I could wear my pajamas to work. Ooh, but that would mean all the icky guys I work with could too…nah, nix that idea. 🙂

  9. michaelm February 26, 2009 at 7:45 am #

    If I’d had you as a teacher in grade school, I would have been a better student. I’m sure of it.
    Sounds like you had a great day.
    I’m thinking the kids did, as well.
    😉
    ~m

Leave a Reply

